UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Offered and Wanted Messages > Repair and Restoration Services Wanted

Notices

Repair and Restoration Services Wanted If you need someone to repair or restore equipment for you please post your request here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 9th Jun 2015, 8:58 pm   #1
Hampus
Pentode
 
Hampus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Sandviken, Sweden
Posts: 215
Default Clock coil rewind

Hi,

I bought an old Ericsson slave clock to use with my master clock system, it was cheap and sold a not working. It turns out that the coil is open, I suspect someone connected it to the mains in the past These coils rarely if ever fails in normal use.

I have never winded a coil of any kind and I feel this coil is too much for a beginner to practice with.

I live in Sweden but I don't know anyone who do such work. I'm thinking this small part can't be that expensive to ship abroad. Anyone willing to help me? And what may it cost? As I have a few identical clocks I can give you the resistance value if needed.

The matchbox is for size reference, I guess matchboxes are about the same size all over the world

Many thanks, Hampus
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC01304.jpg
Views:	136
Size:	55.9 KB
ID:	109383   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC01311.jpg
Views:	223
Size:	72.6 KB
ID:	109384   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC01313.jpg
Views:	188
Size:	84.5 KB
ID:	109385  
Hampus is offline  
Old 9th Jun 2015, 9:29 pm   #2
Nickthedentist
Dekatron
 
Nickthedentist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Oxford, UK.
Posts: 15,608
Default Re: Clock coil rewind

Try forum members Ed Dinning or Murphymad, who specialise in transformer rewinds.

Or Mike Phelan, who is our clock expert.

OTOH, I think you could manage that, especially if you could establish what gauge of wire is used. The wire should be quite thick and robust, quite unlike mains-powered clocks. And a cordless drill makes an adequate coil winder for simple coils. Just a thought.

N.
Nickthedentist is offline  
Old 10th Jun 2015, 10:26 pm   #3
murphymad
Heptode
 
murphymad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Devizes, Wiltshire, UK.
Posts: 600
Default Re: Clock coil rewind

Hello Hampus,

If you are prepared to send the coil to the UK, I can certainly rewind it for you.

Just send me a PM or repley to this and I can give you details of where to send it.

Best regards,

Mike...
__________________
Mike Barker.
murphymad is offline  
Old 5th Oct 2015, 10:26 pm   #4
Hampus
Pentode
 
Hampus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Sandviken, Sweden
Posts: 215
Default Re: Clock coil rewind

Hi murphymad,

This clock has been low priority for quite a while, but now it's time to get it going. I will send you a PM. And here is a photo of the coil with the magnets removed so it will make the work easier.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC01435.jpg
Views:	117
Size:	36.4 KB
ID:	113896  
Hampus is offline  
Old 6th Oct 2015, 10:49 am   #5
Hampus
Pentode
 
Hampus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Sandviken, Sweden
Posts: 215
Default Re: Clock coil rewind

I see now that I already posted a photo in my first post of the thing in its dismantled state
Hampus is offline  
Old 6th Oct 2015, 2:13 pm   #6
TrevorG3VLF
Rest in Peace
 
TrevorG3VLF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Matlock, Derbyshire, UK.
Posts: 1,378
Default Re: Clock coil rewind

There are two blobbs on the coil. Perhaps this where the break is.
You could measure the resistance from each blob to each end of the coil to see if there is another break and see how much coil is at the end.

If there is only a small difference in resistance, you could connect to the highest resistance part. It would load the master clock a little more but you may not have as many slaves as the specification allows.
TrevorG3VLF is offline  
Old 6th Oct 2015, 3:54 pm   #7
TrevorG3VLF
Rest in Peace
 
TrevorG3VLF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Matlock, Derbyshire, UK.
Posts: 1,378
Default Re: Clock coil rewind

If the failure was due to arc-over between turns, then a diode across the coil would reduce the inter-turn voltage so that the old insulation would be adequate.
TrevorG3VLF is offline  
Old 6th Oct 2015, 8:07 pm   #8
Hampus
Pentode
 
Hampus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Sandviken, Sweden
Posts: 215
Default Re: Clock coil rewind

Hi Trevor,

I have been examining these blobs but they only seems to be some kind of foreign matter sticking to the wires insulation. They could easily be scraped away and the wiring underneath seems intact. I have tried prodding through the insulation with a needle and a ohmmeter but I can not find the break.
Hampus is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools



All times are GMT. The time now is 1:37 pm.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2021, Paul Stenning.