UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Tape (Audio), Cassette, Wire and Magnetic Disc Recorders and Players

Notices

Vintage Tape (Audio), Cassette, Wire and Magnetic Disc Recorders and Players Open-reel tape recorders, cassette recorders, 8-track players etc.

Closed Thread

Old 15th Jun 2014, 5:50 pm   #1
PatrickJohns
Retired Dormant Member

Default Where's the best place to sell reel to reel tapes?

Dear All,

Apologies upfront if I am breaking any rules by posting here - it is not my intention. Paul, please do move this to the correct section if this is not it. Thanks!

My uncle died recently was an avid collector of reel to reel tapes. Many were used to record classical music concerts (LOTS of Wagner!) but some (c17) are unused and a few still wrapped up.

I'm an ex-BBC Radio producer, and although tapes were still being used when I joined (2001), they were phased out soon after, so my knowledge of tapes is scant.

My query is really this: where is the best place to sell these? A couple of obvious websites spring to mind, but I hate the thought of them going for a few quid when they might be worth a lot more.

There are over 70 tapes by many different brands including TDK, Maxell, Agfa, Scotch, Gee, Ampex, Veritone, Basf, Shamrock, Audua, Emitape and New International Electronics.

I hope I am not breaking the rules of this forum by asking this question. If I am, then apologies.

Very best wishes to you all,

Patrick
Old 15th Jun 2014, 6:32 pm   #2
paulsherwin

Default Re: Where's the best place to sell reel to reel tapes?

Ebay is as good a place to sell as any. You will probably get the best price if you take the trouble to sell them in small quantities.