UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread

Old 20th Feb 2020, 6:38 pm   #1
BrianAllen
Heptode

Default Am I going about this in the wrong way!!

I have a few radios that will need a lot of loving attention (Bush PB.12 Pye 18A and a Pye Fen Man 1); cabinet repairs and French polishing no problems there as I have some experience.

Now to replacement components. I have just been looking online at scale display bulbs and capacitors; £20 for a couple of bulbs and a capacitor (not yet looked at the cost of the valves). I have a feeling that I may be best buying a fully functioning radio rather than spending out £100's on components.

Feeling a little despondent as was really looking forward to something different to Philips tape recorders.
Old 20th Feb 2020, 6:46 pm   #2
paulsherwin

Default Re: Am I going about this in the wrong way!!

You shouldn't need to pay that much, but it's true that you're not going to get rich restoring old radios.
Old 20th Feb 2020, 7:28 pm   #3
Gabe001
Octode

Valve prices vary widely and you may get away with a replacement that's not exactly like for like but significantly cheaper. Helps to do some research. Also post here in the wanted section for components, lots of people pleased to see items (including valves) going to good homes for cost of postage only.
Old 20th Feb 2020, 7:44 pm   #4
kestrelmusic
Hexode

All of these sets have readily available valves. Langrex in Billingshurst have stock of pretty well anything you might want, though they are on the pricey side - on the other hand, they are also guaranteed good.