UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Other Discussions > Homebrew Equipment

Notices

Homebrew Equipment A place to show, design and discuss the weird and wonderful electronic creations from the hands of individual members.

Closed Thread

Old 24th Sep 2020, 3:39 pm   #1
Grimshaw1989

Default Sonos 1 speaker

Hey! Completely new to this but I’ve got an old Roberts R707 that’s in pretty good condition but doesn’t work (just picks up white noise). I don’t really listen to much radio but love the look and feel of the unit. Originally I thought of trying to convert it to a Bluetooth speaker, which I’ll still look to do if needed.

However I got a bit of a brainwave and thought about going a step further and breaking up an old Sonos 1 speaker and possibly turning it into a WiFi speaker?
I’m a complete novice so don’t know if it’s even possible but more than willing to give it a bash and try.
Old 24th Sep 2020, 4:38 pm   #2
Radio Wrangler

Default Re: Sonos 1 speaker

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grimshaw1989 View Post
old Sonos 1 speaker
Wasn't there something several months ago about Sonos not only ceasing support of their earlier stuff, but also of bricking them?

It might be less frustrating and a better long term bet to look at some alternative.

David
Old 24th Sep 2020, 4:51 pm   #3
paulsherwin

Sonos withdrew the bricking proposal after a storm of negative publicity. They just don't provide any software updates.
Old 28th Sep 2020, 1:16 pm   #4
bikerhifinut
Octode

I wonder if you could use the Roberts case and fit something based on a Raspberry pi or Arduino based board as they seem to be popular and provide genuine hi fi results from their DACs and soundcards.
I have no idea how you'd do it but I bet there's a fair few here who could.

A.
Old 28th Sep 2020, 2:03 pm   #5
Techman
Dekatron