UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread

Old 18th Dec 2009, 3:02 pm   #1
oldticktock
Retired Dormant Member

Default Newb Stumped on a Derwent

Hi Board,

Stuck in doors with lots of snow up here on the Pennines so decided to have a go at an unknown 4 valve 1930's Derwent.

It has a round aircraft type dial and says "Puts a Girdle round about the Earth" on the dial. Re-capped and rewired where necessary but now I've got a weird scenario and I just don't know why.

When I turn the set on I hear a music station then it slowly fades out to nothing, if I turn off then on again, It does the same again. The wave change makes a healthy pop when turned.

I'm very new to this hobby and have some old 40's/50's books which assume a certain level of knowledge. I have checked some voltages and the speakers pops and crackles when checking is done. All valves glow. Any ideas, no service sheet not much experience makes for a glum time.

Valves are 80S (rectifier), 42(errrr !!), 6A7 (top cap goes to tuning gang), 75 ( I think this is the output valve as its top cap goes to the output transformer) 78 (is this the AF valve? its top cap goes into a silver can)

All the best OldTickTock
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	derwent.jpg
Views:	217
Size:	123.0 KB
ID:	31118  

Last edited by oldticktock; 18th Dec 2009 at 3:29 pm. Reason: added picture
Old 18th Dec 2009, 3:26 pm   #2
Steve_P
Dekatron

Default Re: Newb Stumped on a Derwent

Start by measuring the HT in the working then the fault condition. If this is OK, when the set goes faulty, put a signal in at either the gram sockets or the volume control. If this is OK, work back, if not, work forward.