UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > General Vintage Technology > Hints, Tips and Solutions (Do NOT post requests for help here)

Notices

Hints, Tips and Solutions (Do NOT post requests for help here) If you have any useful general hints and tips for vintage technology repair and restoration, please share them here. PLEASE DO NOT POST REQUESTS FOR HELP HERE!

Old 3rd Jan 2024, 8:00 pm   #1
Pamphonica
Nonode

Default Notes on the Duratool (D00672) Desoldering Station

I have been using one of these desoldering stations for 10-12 years, with reasonable success. I have just acquired a second one, courtesy of a kind UKVRR member, so I thought I would compare them and comment on ways to make them perform better.

This device is about £95 at CPC currently (Jan 2024), so is quite a significant purchase. But I do a lot of repairs, old and new, and effective desoldering of components is a constant requirement. The Duratool is a "budget device" but I still find it more effective than very expensive devices from Metcal or Weller. It is simple, and the "suck" is more than adequate.

These devices rely on a heated tube running the length of the tip, down which the molten solder can be drawn under vacuum, into a cylindrical glass chamber section with a filter at the end.

My original device had an opaque black chamber with a tight-wound conical spring inside. It choked up quickly, and spent solder removal from the spring was very difficult. The newer devices use a glass tube with a slim wide-spaced standard spring inside. That works really well. Tip: A replacement glass tube and spring set is available from CPC (order code SD02162) for under £3. For owners of older devices, or just as a spare (see later) just buy one and enjoy desoldering again.