UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > General Vintage Technology > General Vintage Technology Discussions

Notices

General Vintage Technology Discussions For general discussions about vintage radio and other vintage electronics etc.

Closed Thread

Old 10th Oct 2005, 8:28 pm   #1
shaft
Retired Dormant Member

Default "Gizmo"

Anyone here tried a "gizmo"? http://www.vcomp.co.uk/gizmo/gizmo/gizmo_uk.htm

The idea is that they can be used to "broadcast" cd's etc on MW to enjoy via a proper radio. I'm thinking of getting one, but would appreciate any views of quality, ease of use etc before taking the plunge. I probably ought to point out that I have zero technical knowledge, so unfortunatley, building my own is a non starter!

Many thanks,

Cliff
Old 10th Oct 2005, 8:34 pm   #2
Nickthedentist
Dekatron

Default Re: "Gizmo"

Hi Cliff,

I've got one and it's not at all bad, especially with PS's mods, but the SStran is rather better, if more expensive.

See here: http://www.vintage-radio.com/reviews/transmitters.shtml

Nick.
Old 10th Oct 2005, 8:49 pm   #3
shaft
Retired Dormant Member

Nick,

Thanks for the speedy response, as well as the link - you've given me plenty to think about!

I suspect I may struggle with a kit (not helped by being colour blind!), but I dare say I could find someone willing to build it for a small charge.

Regards,

Cliff
Old 10th Oct 2005, 10:49 pm   #4
Paul Stenning
Administrator

I would certainly recommend the SSTRAN over the GIZMO (if you can find someone to help you put it together).

Paul Stenning
Forum Admin/Owner and BVWS Webmaster
Old 11th Oct 2005, 1:45 pm   #5
Sam
Hexode

Quote:
Originally Posted by shaft
I suspect I may struggle with a kit (not helped by being colour blind!), but I dare say I could find someone willing to build it for a small charge.