UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 13th Mar 2006, 11:23 pm   #1
brendan99
Triode
 
brendan99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Portmarnock, Dublin.
Posts: 11
Default Quirky Philips trimmers.

Anyone please tell me how to fix this coil. One end is connected through the core center. Should this be connected to the broken end ??
Brendan.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	brokencoil.jpg
Views:	155
Size:	56.7 KB
ID:	3039  
brendan99 is offline  
Old 13th Mar 2006, 11:33 pm   #2
Radio_Dave
Nonode
 
Radio_Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK.
Posts: 2,467
Default Re: Broken inductor on Philips set

Hi Brendan,

I think it's, actually, a variable capacitor. If it's not obvious where the broken end should attach I'd try and find a circuit diagram and then it should be easy to sort out

HTH
David
Radio_Dave is offline  
Old 14th Mar 2006, 12:03 am   #3
brendan99
Triode
 
brendan99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Portmarnock, Dublin.
Posts: 11
Default Re: Broken inductor on Philips set

Thanks Dave,

I had another look at it. Both ends of the component are connected to the radio. The fine wire you see sticking up goes nowhere though. I was able to unwind this one turn so I stopped. I think it should be as in this pic. Ever see one before ? Brendan.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	brokencoilcols.JPG
Views:	105
Size:	59.4 KB
ID:	3040  
brendan99 is offline  
Old 14th Mar 2006, 12:08 am   #4
Radio_Dave
Nonode
 
Radio_Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK.
Posts: 2,467
Default Re: Broken inductor on Philips set

Hi Brendan,

The wire you have unwound doesn't connect to anything . If the capacitor is connected in two places that's it. Just wind back the loose end and you should be OK

HTH
David
Radio_Dave is offline  
Old 14th Mar 2006, 12:16 am   #5
brendan99
Triode
 
brendan99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Portmarnock, Dublin.
Posts: 11
Default Re: Broken inductor on Philips set

Thanks Dave.

Have to say I've never seen a capacitor constructed like this. I'm more used to MLCC's ! I guess when I assumed it was a coil, my reasoning dictated that it was broken. Anyway, lesson learned and no harm done.
Brendan.
brendan99 is offline  
Old 14th Mar 2006, 7:12 am   #6
PWH
Hexode
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Waiheke Island, New Zealand
Posts: 413
Default Re: Broken inductor on Philips set

It is a 'trimmer capacitor' possibly for an oscillator adjustment. The diagrams state you are not supposed to wind the wire back on but use a new one, But I expect they had loads in those days and no one will notice....
PWH is offline  
Old 14th Mar 2006, 11:14 am   #7
Aerodyne
Octode
 
Aerodyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Hampton Vale, Peterborough, UK.
Posts: 1,688
Default Re: Broken inductor on Philips set

I've said on other threads that IMHO Philips were, to say the least, 'quirky'. This type of trimmer was common to many of their chassis and is far from the most way-out of their ideas. Fun, though!
-Tony
Aerodyne is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 2:28 pm.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2020, Paul Stenning.