UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Television Standards Converters, Modulators etc

Notices

Television Standards Converters, Modulators etc Standards converters, modulators anything else for providing signals to vintage televisions.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 8th Oct 2006, 9:31 pm   #61
Sean Williams
Dekatron
 
Sean Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St.Ippolyts, Hitchin, Hertfordshire QRA IO91UW
Posts: 3,175
Default Re: Auroras back in stock

Simple - Parcelforce are the approved collecters for HMG - i fthere is ant possibility of a duty charge the packet is sent to parcelfarce to deal with.

Cheers
Sean
__________________
Engineers make things work and have spare bits when finished
Sean Williams is offline  
Old 8th Oct 2006, 11:17 pm   #62
garfy
Tetrode
 
garfy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cornwall,UK
Posts: 25
Unhappy Re: Auroras back in stock

Hello Sean,
Thanks for that.
It`s always the case when someone has the monopoly
It`s a bit like a car MOT a licence to print money.
Regards,
Garfy.
__________________
Garfy can do it.
Support your local Chip shop!
garfy is offline  
Old 10th Oct 2006, 7:40 am   #63
ppppenguin
Banned
 
ppppenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: North London, UK.
Posts: 6,168
Default Re: Auroras back in stock

Parcelfarce seems to have charged us 13.50 virtually every time but curiously the VAT has been much lower than the expected 17.5%.

My first Aurora came by Royal Mail where the VAT was about right and the processing fee only 3.50.

The only remedy I can see is to have one shipped to you (or a friend) who's travelling from the US to the EU. Strictly speaking you are still liable to VAT on personal imports above a certain value (135?) but by then the unit is secondhand and worth less than that
ppppenguin is offline  
Old 10th Oct 2006, 8:19 am   #64
Station X
Moderator
 
Station X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ipswich, Suffolk, IP4, UK.
Posts: 13,701
Default Re: Auroras back in stock

Quote:
Originally Posted by ppppenguin
Strictly speaking you are still liable to VAT on personal imports above a certain value (135?) but by then the unit is secondhand and worth less than that
The limit is 145 worth of all other goods including gifts and souvenirs. If you bring in something worth more than the limit of 145, you must pay charges on the full value, not just the value above 145. Of course an Aurora will cost less than 145 in the states, as you won't be paying such a high postage charge.
__________________
Graham. Forum Moderator

Keep the soldering iron hot.

Last edited by Station X; 10th Oct 2006 at 11:39 am.
Station X is offline  
Old 10th Oct 2006, 11:55 am   #65
Station X
Moderator
 
Station X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ipswich, Suffolk, IP4, UK.
Posts: 13,701
Default Re: Auroras back in stock

I have deleted a number of posts from this thread, including some of my own, as they may contain inaccurate information concerning TARIC Codes and VAT rates.

I spoke to HMRC today (they wanted all my details) and they advised me that "Collectors items" imported from the USA and carrying TARIC Code 9705 00 00 90 attracted zero import duty and the reduced rate of VAT at 5%. What constitutes a "collectors item" is hard to define, but I was told that it did cover valve radios. Any further enquiries to HMRC on 0845 010 9000 please.
__________________
Graham. Forum Moderator

Keep the soldering iron hot.
Station X is offline  
Old 10th Oct 2006, 12:25 pm   #66
ppppenguin
Banned
 
ppppenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: North London, UK.
Posts: 6,168
Default Re: Auroras back in stock

Quote:
Originally Posted by Station X View Post
..."Collectors items" imported from the USA and carrying TARIC Code 9705 00 00 90 attracted zero import duty and the reduced rate of VAT at 5%.
That accounts for the apparently low VAT on many of the Aurorae. 5% of 160 is 8 which is about what a lot of us have been charged before adding the 13.50 fee. That's one little mystery solved. I suggest that Darryl sticks to the 9705 00 00 90 code since it seems appropriate and gives a lower VAT rate.
ppppenguin is offline  
Old 10th Oct 2006, 1:21 pm   #67
channel405
Tetrode
 
channel405's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: CH3, Blaen Plwyf Transmitter, Aberystwyth, WALES
Posts: 72
Default Re: Auroras back in stock

Quote:
Originally Posted by garfy View Post
Hello, I bought an Aurora on September 22nd and it arrived today.....
Hmmmm, thats worrying. I bought mine on the same day but have nothing so far. I did get an email from USPS Shipping with a tracking number, but even that doesn't work. Suppose just have to wait a bit longer, it could be the Welsh bit of the Post Office using plodding sheep to transport parcels instead of vans.....
channel405 is offline  
Old 10th Oct 2006, 1:26 pm   #68
ppppenguin
Banned
 
ppppenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: North London, UK.
Posts: 6,168
Default Re: Auroras back in stock

Quote:
Originally Posted by channel405 View Post
Hmmmm, thats worrying. I bought mine on the same day but have nothing so far.
If it's any consolation my first Aurora took over a month to arrive and we thought it had been lost.

Quote:
Originally Posted by channel405 View Post
...it could be the Welsh bit of the Post Office using plodding sheep to transport parcels instead of vans.
I always knew the Welsh were inventive when it came to uses for sheep.
ppppenguin is offline  
Old 11th Oct 2006, 10:41 am   #69
channel405
Tetrode
 
channel405's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: CH3, Blaen Plwyf Transmitter, Aberystwyth, WALES
Posts: 72
Default Re: Auroras back in stock

Can I just ask how was it delivered to you, did the postman bring it to your door and ask you to cough up or did he put a card through the letterbox instructing you to pay and collect at the post office?
channel405 is offline  
Old 11th Oct 2006, 10:59 am   #70
ppppenguin
Banned
 
ppppenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: North London, UK.
Posts: 6,168
Default Re: Auroras back in stock

Quote:
Originally Posted by channel405 View Post
Can I just ask how was it delivered to you, did the postman bring it to your door and ask you to cough up or did he put a card through the letterbox instructing you to pay and collect at the post office?
The Postman no longer asks you for money at the door. Not in London, maybe in remote country areas. For the one delivered by Royal Mail I got a card from the postman. then it's call at the sorting office, cash only. For Parcelfarce I got a card posted to me with the option of collecting, phoning with credit card info or sending a cheque.
ppppenguin is offline  
Old 11th Oct 2006, 1:36 pm   #71
chipp1968
Rest in Peace
 
chipp1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Somerset, UK.
Posts: 2,356
Default Re: Auroras back in stock

i think i payed over phone with credit card .. u know ...sorry i mean YOU know ..all automated rubbish

Last edited by chipp1968; 11th Oct 2006 at 1:56 pm.
chipp1968 is offline  
Old 11th Oct 2006, 5:11 pm   #72
tvden
Hexode
 
tvden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Halesworth, Suffolk, UK.
Posts: 413
Default Re: Auroras back in stock

Jeffrey even here in the wilds of suffolk you still have to go 4 miles to the sorting office
__________________
TvDen 405 the only way back
tvden is offline  
Old 11th Oct 2006, 8:33 pm   #73
garfy
Tetrode
 
garfy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cornwall,UK
Posts: 25
Cool Re: Auroras back in stock

Hello,
I am in Cornwall and every time i have a import charge i get a letter first,and when i phone up to pay i just listen to a womans vioce on a mackine as evrything is automated.
You use the phone buttons to first to put in the item number and then the credit card number,expiry date and three digit security number to pay.
So you cannot even have a moan at someone now at the other end.
If i find myself getting annoyed at this i just think of the ex wife and then i realise that it can`t be all that bad.
Regards,
Garfy.
__________________
Garfy can do it.
Support your local Chip shop!
garfy is offline  
Old 17th Oct 2006, 10:03 am   #74
TNC
Hexode
 
TNC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Westcliff-on-Sea, Essex, UK.
Posts: 369
Default Re: Aurora setup for the first time.

Just received mine via a happy holiday maker in the US - ergo no duty!!

Could someone please advise:
1. The Aurora's power consumption?
2. Is the 9v socket pin negative or pin positive?

Many thanks,

Trevor.
TNC is offline  
Old 17th Oct 2006, 10:08 am   #75
Station X
Moderator
 
Station X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ipswich, Suffolk, IP4, UK.
Posts: 13,701
Default Re: Auroras back in stock

Just follow this link:-

http://www.auroravideosys.com/converter

and look at the bold type.
__________________
Graham. Forum Moderator

Keep the soldering iron hot.
Station X is offline  
Old 17th Oct 2006, 10:09 am   #76
ppppenguin
Banned
 
ppppenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: North London, UK.
Posts: 6,168
Default Re: Aurora setup for the first time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TNC View Post
Could someone please advise:
1. The Aurora's power consumption?
2. Is the 9v socket pin negative or pin positive?
RTM which can be downloaded freely from the web site. In fact the info is right there on the web site without having to download the manual.
http://www.auroravideosys.com/converter/

9V, 250mA and centre +ve though there's protection against reverse polarity. Any voltage between 7V and 12V is actually OK.

PS: Graham made his post while I was still typing.
ppppenguin is offline  
Old 17th Oct 2006, 1:48 pm   #77
chipp1968
Rest in Peace
 
chipp1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Somerset, UK.
Posts: 2,356
Default Re: Auroras back in stock

im thinking about getting another but not decided yet .
chipp1968 is offline  
Old 17th Oct 2006, 1:58 pm   #78
ppppenguin
Banned
 
ppppenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: North London, UK.
Posts: 6,168
Default Re: Auroras back in stock

Quote:
Originally Posted by chipp1968 View Post
im thinking about getting another but not decided yet .
Why not get 13, one for each channel I'm sure Darryl would offer a quantity discount.
ppppenguin is offline  
Old 17th Oct 2006, 5:59 pm   #79
chipp1968
Rest in Peace
 
chipp1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Somerset, UK.
Posts: 2,356
Default Re: Auroras back in stock

not that well off for such extravagancies, though i can see a second one comming in usefull in the not too distant future , its a pain moving it from set to set , and cos its so small and light i can see it getting damaged . already stepped on it twice also i can have a different test card on the other
chipp1968 is offline  
Old 17th Oct 2006, 6:49 pm   #80
Dave Moll
Dekatron
 
Dave Moll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: West Cumbria (CA13), UK
Posts: 3,685
Default Re: Auroras back in stock

Not wishing to depress Aurora sales, but you could always runner several sets from one Aurora, using
splitter(s), unless, of course, you want more than one programme at the same time.
Dave Moll is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 4:18 pm.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2018, Paul Stenning.