UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Television Standards Converters, Modulators etc

Notices

Television Standards Converters, Modulators etc Standards converters, modulators anything else for providing signals to vintage televisions.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 7th Apr 2006, 6:00 pm   #21
oldeurope
Heptode
 
oldeurope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Solingen, Germany
Posts: 727
Default Re: 405 analogue standard converter kit

Good evening,
the serration pulses at JP11 are comeing from JP7 at the clockboard.
The V-replace pulse at JP12 is comeing from JP5 at the clockboard.

Kind regards
Darius
__________________
RADIO & TV SERVICE

oldeurope's blogs
oldeurope is offline  
Old 10th Apr 2006, 4:50 pm   #22
oldeurope
Heptode
 
oldeurope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Solingen, Germany
Posts: 727
Default Re: 405 analogue standard converter kit

Good evening,
I nearly finished the schematic. Please have a clother look at the schematic,
because this is the one the board will be made from.
I'll sleep some nights over it and than I'll give the boards in production.
Every tip is welcome.

Kind regards
Darius
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ccd board schematic not finished 10.April.06.png
Views:	93
Size:	115.8 KB
ID:	3353  
__________________
RADIO & TV SERVICE

oldeurope's blogs
oldeurope is offline  
Old 14th Apr 2006, 11:05 am   #23
oldeurope
Heptode
 
oldeurope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Solingen, Germany
Posts: 727
Default Re: 405 analogue standard converter kit

Gidday,
I need some suggestions how to switch the colour trap at the input.
The colour trap is switched on when Q7 is switched off and vise versa.
So if there is a current flow from base of Q7 via a 22K Ohms to ground, the
filter (trap) is switched off.
If R41/33/40 and D5 are not loaded, the trap is switched on when the converter is standard converting. With a 10KHz (405) signal at the input it
switches automaticly to bypass. The collector of Q5 goes to ground thus
a current flowes from base of Q7 via R37 to ground.
So in the bypass mode the filter is switched off.
Disadvantage, the filter is always switched on when standard converting.
But if your source is monochrom (Y out DVD) you don't want a trap.

Now I added JP4. If R37 is not loaded, the filter is only switched on if a
cvbs signal is applied via scart. I made this solution in the MK II and III.
For me this is ok. What do you think?
Any better ideas?

Kind regards
Darius
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ccd board schematic 14.April 06.png
Views:	69
Size:	119.7 KB
ID:	3386  
__________________
RADIO & TV SERVICE

oldeurope's blogs
oldeurope is offline  
Old 3rd Jun 2006, 12:02 pm   #24
oldeurope
Heptode
 
oldeurope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Solingen, Germany
Posts: 727
Smile Re: 405 analogue standard converter kit

Hi, this morning I got the ccd boards.
I am loading one at the moment for the low clock frequency.
The switchable colour trap, the LM1881 and the interpolator ccd
are working well.
Here are a few pics.

Kind regards
Darius
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	interpolator and clockboard 3.June 2006.JPG
Views:	110
Size:	134.1 KB
ID:	4043   Click image for larger version

Name:	interpolator loaded 3.June 2006.JPG
Views:	92
Size:	90.0 KB
ID:	4044   Click image for larger version

Name:	interoplator cxl on board 3.June 2006.JPG
Views:	94
Size:	142.1 KB
ID:	4045  
__________________
RADIO & TV SERVICE

oldeurope's blogs
oldeurope is offline  
Old 9th Jun 2006, 5:30 pm   #25
oldeurope
Heptode
 
oldeurope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Solingen, Germany
Posts: 727
Default Re: 405 analogue standard converter kit

Good evening, here is a pic of the boards on the workbench and a screenshot.
I am very happy with the result and this is the one with the low clock
frequency cxl5508m .
I'll build up one with the high clock frequency soon.

Kind regards
Darius
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	converter 9.Juni 06.JPG
Views:	118
Size:	129.8 KB
ID:	4119   Click image for larger version

Name:	Bild vom converter MK IV Kit cxl5508m 9.Juni 06.JPG
Views:	125
Size:	105.5 KB
ID:	4120  
__________________
RADIO & TV SERVICE

oldeurope's blogs
oldeurope is offline  
Old 9th Jun 2006, 8:41 pm   #26
Sean Williams
Dekatron
 
Sean Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St.Ippolyts, Hitchin, Hertfordshire QRA IO91UW
Posts: 3,210
Default Re: 405 analogue standard converter kit

Hi Darius,

This looks very good!

Sorry for my ignorance, but is this the finished converter?

Is there more to add?

The layout looks very impressive with a good density of componenets - I cant wait to build one

Cheers
Sean
__________________
Engineers make things work and have spare bits when finished
Sean Williams is offline  
Old 10th Jun 2006, 8:17 am   #27
oldeurope
Heptode
 
oldeurope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Solingen, Germany
Posts: 727
Default Re: 405 analogue standard converter kit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean Williams
Hi Darius,

This looks very good!

Sorry for my ignorance, but is this the finished converter?

Is there more to add?

The layout looks very impressive with a good density of componenets - I cant wait to build one

Cheers
Sean
Good morning Sean,
a power supply (5V 200mA ) , a modulator and a case must be added.
The density of the ccd board is hi. My eagle light version makes no bigger
sized boards. I made the schematic during routing the board to get
as much as possible on board. So you must be good in soldering.

Kind regards
Darius
__________________
RADIO & TV SERVICE

oldeurope's blogs
oldeurope is offline  
Old 10th Jun 2006, 11:13 am   #28
Sean Williams
Dekatron
 
Sean Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St.Ippolyts, Hitchin, Hertfordshire QRA IO91UW
Posts: 3,210
Default Re: 405 analogue standard converter kit

Hi Darius,

This is very good news!

So the current state will work with a modulator and power supply!

Are you planning to build a modulator kit as well?

Looking forward to first kit availability.....

Cheers
Sean
__________________
Engineers make things work and have spare bits when finished
Sean Williams is offline  
Old 10th Jun 2006, 11:23 am   #29
Sam
Hexode
 
Sam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Higham-on-the-Hill, Leicestershire, UK.
Posts: 338
Default Re: 405 analogue standard converter kit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean Williams
Looking forward to first kit availability.....
I am looking forward to this too!

Thanks for asking the question I was about to Sean.

Sam
__________________
Can he lead a Normal life, Doctor?
No, he will be ... an Engineer.
Sam is offline  
Old 10th Jun 2006, 11:24 am   #30
oldeurope
Heptode
 
oldeurope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Solingen, Germany
Posts: 727
Default Re: 405 analogue standard converter kit

Yes, the modulator comes end of the year. Switchable London, Berlin,
Paris, Birmingham but without filters at the output.

Kind regards
Darius
__________________
RADIO & TV SERVICE

oldeurope's blogs
oldeurope is offline  
Old 10th Jun 2006, 12:15 pm   #31
oldeurope
Heptode
 
oldeurope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Solingen, Germany
Posts: 727
Default Re: 405 analogue standard converter kit

Here are the layouts:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	layout clockboard.png
Views:	102
Size:	81.1 KB
ID:	4127   Click image for larger version

Name:	layout ccd board.png
Views:	90
Size:	126.2 KB
ID:	4128  
__________________
RADIO & TV SERVICE

oldeurope's blogs
oldeurope is offline  
Old 10th Jun 2006, 2:43 pm   #32
Sean Williams
Dekatron
 
Sean Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St.Ippolyts, Hitchin, Hertfordshire QRA IO91UW
Posts: 3,210
Default Re: 405 analogue standard converter kit

Hi Darius,

Well, If one is available without a modulator, I would be very interested - I already have a working mod here......

Cheers
Sean
__________________
Engineers make things work and have spare bits when finished
Sean Williams is offline  
Old 10th Jun 2006, 3:49 pm   #33
oldeurope
Heptode
 
oldeurope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Solingen, Germany
Posts: 727
Default Re: 405 analogue standard converter kit

Yes Sean I know that.
It takes some time for me to put all parts together.
And I haven't built up the cxl5506m version. So not all values are verefied.
Is it neccessary to make a discription for the schematic?

Kind regards
Darius
__________________
RADIO & TV SERVICE

oldeurope's blogs
oldeurope is offline  
Old 10th Jun 2006, 5:36 pm   #34
Sean Williams
Dekatron
 
Sean Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St.Ippolyts, Hitchin, Hertfordshire QRA IO91UW
Posts: 3,210
Default Re: 405 analogue standard converter kit

Hi Darius,

Ok regarding the High speed clock version,

A description of the schematic might prove useful - Certainly when building my K2 transiever it did help to know what each section of the circuit was doing.

From my point of view and knowing very little about television, principle of operation is always interesting to learn.

I would not think that you need to write instructions for how to build though - if anyone is going to build one of these, they would need to have had some expereience of construction before...

Cheers
Sean
__________________
Engineers make things work and have spare bits when finished
Sean Williams is offline  
Old 10th Jun 2006, 6:22 pm   #35
Sam
Hexode
 
Sam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Higham-on-the-Hill, Leicestershire, UK.
Posts: 338
Default Re: 405 analogue standard converter kit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean Williams
A description of the schematic might prove useful - Certainly when building my K2 transiever it did help to know what each section of the circuit was doing.

From my point of view and knowing very little about television, principle of operation is always interesting to learn.
I agree with Sean - it would be useful to have a brief description of the circuits and their operation to refer to while constructing the Converter. I guess a few people building it may be new to/learning about TV, and I guess what is probably broadcaster-end rather than reciever-end, circuitry.

Sam
__________________
Can he lead a Normal life, Doctor?
No, he will be ... an Engineer.
Sam is offline  
Old 12th Jun 2006, 8:10 am   #36
oldeurope
Heptode
 
oldeurope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Solingen, Germany
Posts: 727
Default Re: 405 analogue standard converter kit

Good morning,
I'll make a short discription for it, but someone with technical background
must translate it from german into oxford english.

I have some old sat receivers from customers who bought a digital set top box.
I am using the case with plugs and power supply for building in the converter.
There is enough space for a nice modulator too.

Darius
__________________
RADIO & TV SERVICE

oldeurope's blogs
oldeurope is offline  
Old 12th Jun 2006, 8:14 am   #37
oldeurope
Heptode
 
oldeurope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Solingen, Germany
Posts: 727
Default Re: 405 analogue standard converter kit

And here some pics...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uniden sat receiver.JPG
Views:	110
Size:	130.7 KB
ID:	4150   Click image for larger version

Name:	unidenbox MK IV 405 1.JPG
Views:	117
Size:	102.3 KB
ID:	4151  
__________________
RADIO & TV SERVICE

oldeurope's blogs
oldeurope is offline  
Old 12th Jun 2006, 1:00 pm   #38
peter_scott
Octode
 
peter_scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Edinburgh, UK.
Posts: 1,915
Default Re: 405 analogue standard converter kit

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldeurope
Good morning,
I'll make a short discription for it, but someone with technical background
must translate it from german into oxford english.

Darius
Don't know about the Oxford part but I can probably do something readable.

Peter.
peter_scott is offline  
Old 12th Jun 2006, 1:35 pm   #39
brianc
Rest in Peace
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Burghfield, Reading, Berkshire, UK,
Posts: 1,055
Default Re: 405 analogue standard converter kit

Hi Darius
You can certainly count me in for a kit when one is available - I also have a modulator. I must say that your very dense layout reminds me of the insides of those lovely Philips modules that were used in the old 1500 and 1700 video recorders!

Cheers
Brian
PS Did you get the waxies?
brianc is offline  
Old 12th Jun 2006, 2:04 pm   #40
oldeurope
Heptode
 
oldeurope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Solingen, Germany
Posts: 727
Default Re: 405 analogue standard converter kit

Quote:
Originally Posted by brianc
Hi Darius
You can certainly count me in for a kit when one is available - I also have a modulator. I must say that your very dense layout reminds me of the insides of those lovely Philips modules that were used in the old 1500 and 1700 video recorders!

Cheers
Brian
PS Did you get the waxies?
Yes, thank you very much!
It came without a clear sender, so I was not able to say thanks.

Kind regards
Darius
__________________
RADIO & TV SERVICE

oldeurope's blogs
oldeurope is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 3:40 pm.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2018, Paul Stenning.