UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > General Vintage Technology > Hints, Tips and Solutions (Do NOT post requests for help here)

Notices

Hints, Tips and Solutions (Do NOT post requests for help here) If you have any useful general hints and tips for vintage technology repair and restoration, please share them here. PLEASE DO NOT POST REQUESTS FOR HELP HERE!

Closed Thread

Old 26th Jul 2006, 9:58 am   #1
mikevw
Retired Dormant Member

Default Roberts R606MB (and common Roberts faults).

I have a Roberts R606MB that won't switch on, the switch has a nice positive feel to it, just no noise at all. What could be the problem? and how do you get it apart so that I can test it?

As you can see, I'm new to this and would like to get the radio working again as.

Last edited by Darren-UK; 24th Jul 2007 at 7:36 pm. Reason: Excessive use of emoticons and general tidying.
Old 26th Jul 2006, 10:39 am   #2
Darren-UK
Retired Dormant Member

Default Re: roberts r606-mb

Hi Mike,

Your question is very unclear. Does "no noise at all" mean the on/off switch doesn't click ? or does it mean the switch is operating normally but there's nothing at all at the loudspeaker ?

If the switch is indeed operating normally, there may be a problem with the mains-battery changeover switch. Have you tried it on both forms of supply ? There may also be a problem with a shorted earphone socket - a common problem with Roberts radios of that period.
Old 26th Jul 2006, 11:18 am   #3
mikevw
Retired Dormant Member

Yes the knob clicks, but no sound from the speaker.

I only have the availablity to test with batteries, as I don't have a lead that fits the mains socket.