UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Offered and Wanted Messages > Sets, Parts and Service Information Wanted (private buyers only, no swaps)

Notices

Sets, Parts and Service Information Wanted (private buyers only, no swaps) If you need help obtaining components, sets or equipment, post a message here. Private buyers only - no traders. No swaps.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 14th Mar 2019, 7:48 pm   #1
Aristotle
Tetrode
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Saffron Walden, Essex, UK.
Posts: 52
Default Grundig Accu Pack type 476

Hope this query is in the right place.

Been able to acquire a Grundig Satellit 6001 it's equipped with a rechargeable battery pack which is recharged automatically when the radio's plugged into the mains.

The battery is a Sonnenchein 8v 2.6Ah rechargeable with a Grundig cover so it connects with the radio. Unfortunately the rechargeable is shot and I'd like to replace it so I retain the originality of the radio.

Does anyone know were I can get a replacement Sonnenchein 8v 2.6ah I've looked online and can't find one - has anyone been able to find a replacement.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN0173.jpg
Views:	66
Size:	31.7 KB
ID:	179919  
Aristotle is offline  
Old 15th Mar 2019, 9:53 am   #2
Herald1360
Dekatron
 
Herald1360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Leominster, Herefordshire, UK.
Posts: 13,094
Default Re: Grundig Accu Pack type 476

Could you restuff it with 4 Cyclons? 8V sounds like a lead acid chemistry.
__________________
....__________
....|____||__|__\_____
.=.| _---\__|__|_---_|.
.........O..Chris....O
Herald1360 is offline  
Old 15th Mar 2019, 8:48 pm   #3
Aristotle
Tetrode
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Saffron Walden, Essex, UK.
Posts: 52
Default Re: Grundig Accu Pack type 476

Thanks for the response Chris, - the Sonnenchein is completely sealed with a pos/neg terminal at each end with leads soldered to the Grundig cover.

So no don't think it could be stuffed - - so still looking for a replacement.
Aristotle is offline  
Old 15th Mar 2019, 10:46 pm   #4
MotorBikeLes
Octode
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Kirk Michael, Isle of Man
Posts: 1,262
Default Re: Grundig Accu Pack type 476

First thing to do is carefully remove that top part. The 476 is a stock Sonnenschien 8v battery, with the addition of that top part which includes the 2A fuse.
You can buy th standard battery (NOT cheap), do a search. I located some in UK, and they were very expensive plus about a 1,000,000 for carriage. I then located them in Germany, but they were not equipped to supply UK (or Isle of Man). However, a helpful soul here living over there bought them (I had two) and posted them on. It worked out at around 100 in total. One in my Grundig Sat 600, one in my NordMende Globetrotter 808.
Both in use daily, the G to wake me to Manx Radios early morning news, the N to provide Radio 3 at breakfast time. Both get connected to mains once per week for recharge.
Les.
MotorBikeLes is offline  
Old 17th Mar 2019, 9:43 am   #5
Aristotle
Tetrode
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Saffron Walden, Essex, UK.
Posts: 52
Default Re: Grundig Accu Pack type 476

Thanks Les,

Good to know they are still available - - couldn't find online first time around - will give it another go.

David.
Aristotle is offline  
Old 17th Mar 2019, 11:21 am   #6
Herald1360
Dekatron
 
Herald1360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Leominster, Herefordshire, UK.
Posts: 13,094
Default Re: Grundig Accu Pack type 476

https://www.akkushop.de/de/grundig-a...a508/35s-akku/

Looks promising......

Or Allbatteries have them for about 60
__________________
....__________
....|____||__|__\_____
.=.| _---\__|__|_---_|.
.........O..Chris....O

Last edited by Herald1360; 17th Mar 2019 at 11:31 am.
Herald1360 is offline  
Old 17th Mar 2019, 3:40 pm   #7
Aristotle
Tetrode
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Saffron Walden, Essex, UK.
Posts: 52
Default Re: Grundig Accu Pack type 476

Chris and Les,

Thanks for your help.

Have located a UK supplier and just ordered one.

Right size and terminals in correct location.

As here https://www.tayna.co.uk/industrial-b...ein/a508-3-5s/

Will report back when hopefully received and fitted working.

David.
Aristotle is offline  
Old 18th Mar 2019, 11:42 am   #8
Aristotle
Tetrode
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Saffron Walden, Essex, UK.
Posts: 52
Default Grundig Accu Pack type 476

Hallo again - and re the above thread - did say I'd report back but have just had advice from the supplier they have to order and there's a 12 week lead time.

I've told them to order it and I'll wait but as a courtesy felt should let the forum know it will be some time before I respond again.

Regards,

David.
Aristotle is offline  
Old 18th Mar 2019, 10:30 pm   #9
MotorBikeLes
Octode
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Kirk Michael, Isle of Man
Posts: 1,262
Default Re: Grundig Accu Pack type 476

Wow, that is a good price.
Of course 20 years ago I was buying these at 2 each (I had 4 I think) as they were specified in a (GEC?) "Static" mobile phone system. It was abandoned, so the market was flooded with them.
Les.
MotorBikeLes is offline  
Old 19th Mar 2019, 11:37 am   #10
Aristotle
Tetrode
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Saffron Walden, Essex, UK.
Posts: 52
Default Re: Grundig Accu Pack type 476

Les,

Yes - price much less than elsewhere - I have already paid so hope they honour it - - half expecting them to come back and say "Sorry we've heard from our supplier but" - - - you know the sort of thing.

Will though once received let everyone know.

David.
Aristotle is offline  
Old 2nd May 2019, 3:22 pm   #11
Aristotle
Tetrode
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Saffron Walden, Essex, UK.
Posts: 52
Default Re: Grundig Accu Pack type 476

Reporting back on Accu Pack for Grundig 6001 (and others)

Came a little quicker than supplier quoted - fits fine after using old Accu Packs top to connect to radio's terminals inside battery compartment. Just had to solder to new packs terminals.

Only difference between old and new is that the old pack had built in channels to locate the removable top on the side where the terminals are. It's no problem as the top is still secured by two small self tappers which locate into the provided holes on top of the new Accu Pack. You just need to be careful when removing and installing the pack in the radio.

So all's well and can recommend - see pics below - - and thanks again for the help.

David.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN0189.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	112.6 KB
ID:	182279   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN0191.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	75.5 KB
ID:	182280   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN0193.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	69.3 KB
ID:	182281  
Aristotle is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:40 pm.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2019, Paul Stenning.