UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc)

Notices

Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc) Amplifiers, speakers, gramophones and other audio equipment.

Closed Thread

Old 5th Nov 2017, 9:29 pm   #1
Matthew30
Retired Dormant Member

Default Pioneer SA508. Suitable CD Player?

Hi All,

I am new to vintage audio. I recently acquired a very nice example of a Pioneer - SA508, it sounds fantastic when I hook it up to my bog standard hi fi speakers through the aux connection. You would not think it is just 25W per channel.

I am looking for a suitable CD player that will complement this amplifier, so I guess I am asking you guys who are much more knowledgeable than myself.

I was looking at the Denon PMA 520 DCD, primarily because it looks like the same finish and will match the amplifier nicely.

Please can you advise of any suggestions and I would very much appreciate it.

My musical tastes vary from classical to rock.

Thank you all in advance.

Matt
Old 5th Nov 2017, 10:09 pm   #2
paulsherwin

Default Re: Pioneer SA508. Suitable CD Player?

There are a huge number of possible choices and everyone will have different favourites. Your choice will depend on your budget, your attitude to sound quality as opposed to styling, any favourite manufacturer, your favourite era, etc.

There are no particular players that will 'complement' the amp other than in terms of styling.

Many people like the 1980s Philips/Marantz players, which perform very well and are cheap to buy.
Old 5th Nov 2017, 10:31 pm   #3
bikerhifinut
Octode

I agree with you Paul.

I guess the right answer is "any CD player, now what colour would you like it to be?".