UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Television and Video

Notices

Vintage Television and Video Vintage television and video equipment, programmes, VCRs etc.

Closed Thread

Old 24th Mar 2011, 6:13 pm   #1
Retired
Heptode

Default Restorer's dream part 2 the chassis.

Hi,

Having now successfully completed the cabinet restoration of my 1957 Ekco T311 I would once again like to beg the indulgence of Paul and the moderators and be allowed to restore the chassis once again doing the restoration in real time. The extensive cabinet restoration can be seen here;

https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/...ad.php?t=62371

Although by no means an expert I have restored many radio chassis and can tell the difference between a cap and a resistor but I’m a total rookie when it comes to TV work as this is my first one. I’ve already received many kind offers of help and advice and no doubt I’ll be very grateful for every one of these by the time this chassis sees first light as there is much to do; I previously described the chassis as in very poor condition which was a bad choice of words when I should have described the chassis as extremely filthy and dirty in fact like the cabinet the chassis looks like a wreck.

Please be gentle with me because I’m again sticking my neck out in public by attempting this restoration in real time and I have a great deal to learn but hopefully I will successfully restore the chassis whilst giving a blow by blow account of work in progress in order to help others in my situation by adding as much detail as possible.