UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Television and Video

Notices

Vintage Television and Video Vintage television and video equipment, programmes, VCRs etc.

Closed Thread

Old 22nd Feb 2019, 11:41 pm   #1
Malcolm T
Hexode

Default The BBC Apollo coverage tapes

Not sure where this question belongs on the forum but as it is TV related i thought best here.
I have been pondering this question for many years and searching but found nothing.
Remember "Tomorrows worlds" James burke . Well he presented the Apollo coverage moon missions on TV with Patrick Moore.
What happened to all the video tapes of all those Apollo missions the BBC covered.
Does anyone know please.
Old 23rd Feb 2019, 1:18 am   #2
Ted Kendall
Dekatron

Default Re: The BBC Apollo coverage tapes

The coverage of the Apollo 13 re-entry (which I saw the first time round) is on YouTube, so some of it at least has been kept.
Old 23rd Feb 2019, 2:18 am   #3
cheerfulcharlie
Heptode

The BBC did a quite a famous (obviously not for you LOL) special on Apollo 11 on BBC4 in 2006, which basically pieced together everything they still had of that week in July 1969 in chronological order.
You can still see it here.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/archive/moonlandings/7620.shtml

Old 23rd Feb 2019, 9:36 am   #4
Malcolm T
Hexode

Thank you for the replies info and link.
But what of the hours and hours of all those TV transmissions from 69 to 1972 Apollo 17.
I watched just about every live TV broadcast they put out.

I have just found this.

https://wipednews.wordpress.com/feat...bc-broadcasts/
Old 23rd Feb 2019, 10:44 am   #5
Reelman
Octode