UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread

Old 5th Jan 2008, 8:31 pm   #1
Gid-e-one
Retired Dormant Member

Talking Barnes Radiogram does not go past 95MHz FM.

Hi people,

I'm new at this. I have inherited a Barnes (or Bavnes) Radiogram. The gram part works and i have managed to get the radio working. Althougth the needle goes all the way across and reads 100, it actualy does not go past 95.
Is there a way to adjust this,

thanks all

Gid-e-one
Old 5th Jan 2008, 11:40 pm   #2
paulsherwin

Default Re: Does not go past 95 FM

Are you saying that the radio is silent above 95, or does it receive 95MHz stations where the dial says 100?

Paul
Old 6th Jan 2008, 12:29 pm   #3
Darren-UK
Retired Dormant Member

Yes, your post is unclear but I'm assuming you mean you can't receive any stations above 95 even though the cursor travels to the 100 mark on the scale.

If you tune the other way, ie down to 88 or whatever the lowest frequency is, does the cursor stop at or near to 88 or does it continue to move beyond that point and off the scale? I ask this because the cursor may be mispositioned on the drivecord; the cursor may be hitting a stop (near the 100MHz point) whilst there's still some degree of tuning left on the gang.

Also, where you can receive a station is that station on-tune? for example, if you can receive Radio Wave from Blackpool on 96.5MHz is that on-tune? Check this carefully as the answer may be important.