UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread

Old 10th Jun 2020, 5:18 pm   #1
condense
Tetrode

Default Reela Baroud

Hello
Sorry I am still a relative beginner - this is my 4th repair. I am fortunate to have got my hands on this set but am struggling to match it to the schematic. I have only got a schematic for a Bernaud 54 and I suspect mine may be slightly earlier. That said they appear very similar (same valve lineup).

I am confused as the set appears to have more electrolytics than it should (assuming I have identified them correctly )

Does anyone know if electrolytics were used instead of non electrolytics and whether that makes a difference in terms of replacements.
In the photo the large red capacitor (in the blue circle) has a value of 5000 cm (by my maths equivalent to 5000 pF) has positive and negative markings at each end. It is these markings which have made me think it must be an electrolytic. There are 4 further caps with the same markings so if they are all electrolytic it would mean I had 8 in the set altogether.
The schematic I have indicates that there should only be 5.

Anyone have any ideas? I would be very grateful for any input
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	290BC71F-F0A7-4632-8E91-EEC0EB9B6792.jpg
Views:	211
Size:	59.7 KB
ID:	208205  
Old 10th Jun 2020, 5:37 pm   #2
condense
Tetrode

Default Re: Reela Bernaud

Sorry this should say Reela Baroud

(It does now - Mod.)
Old 10th Jun 2020, 6:02 pm   #3
Mr 1936
Heptode

Default Re: Reela Bernaud

Hi Condense