UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Tape (Audio), Cassette, Wire and Magnetic Disc Recorders and Players

Notices

Vintage Tape (Audio), Cassette, Wire and Magnetic Disc Recorders and Players Open-reel tape recorders, cassette recorders, 8-track players etc.

Closed Thread

Old 8th Aug 2006, 2:13 pm   #1
TEMAS
Retired Dormant Member

Default Advice on first Reel to Reel Purchase

Hi all, this is my first post here.

Quick background: I've been making music professionally for over 10 years now (I mainly do music to picture - TV stuff etc) and am putting the finishing touches to my new home/pro studio. I've spent quite a bit on new toys already and my set up is looking pretty hot.

I haven't used tape for about 12 years (when I was at uni ) but I'd like to get hold of a nice 1/4" 2-Track to experiment with and to use mainly as an 'effect' on certain instruments, and possibly on ocassions to record the final mix to.

For a while I was thinking a Revox B77 HS would be ideal - its got that 'vintage mystique' about it and I imagine it has 'that' tape character that I'm after. Prices appear to be rising on these though; have I already missed the boat?

Then there's the Tascam BR-20 - much newer, possibly more reliable and surely a steal at about a 10th of its original price. But is it as accurate as a 'real' high-end 2-Track (i.e, ATR-102) and can it really create the vintage warmth effect I'm after? It doesn't have the lust factor for me thats for sure.

Or perhaps a Fostex E-22 would do the trick on 1/2" tape?

But, I'm starting to think that if I'm gonna put the time into looking after one these decks, I should perhaps spend a little extra to get something a little more 'special,' a Studer A810 for example or a Sony APR-5000.