UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread

Old 12th May 2018, 4:40 pm   #1
erikossu
Retired Dormant Member

Default Swedish DUX U 373 mains transformerless radio.

I got this radio some 20 years ago. It is in nice shape and was working many years with me before it just did not turn on one day. It has tubes wired in series so I thought that when one goes all will be off. Since it was difficult for me to test the tubes 10 years ago it just sat on the shelf until now.
I have had some experience with tubes over the years so I decided to take this one on again.
It uses tubes UM80 UCC85 UCH81 UBF80 UF89 UABC80 UL84.
To my dismay this unit is without mains transformer. Instead it has a rather large coil, multi-part resistor and a selene rectifier. So the anode is taken strait from mains 220V and rectified with selene SR 250 Y 130. I know I should not manipulate it with bare hands under power.
It appears that the reason to die was one scale light bulb burned out that is part of the heater ring. Now when I replaced it it came to life. However what worries me is the coil that has suffered from some burn some time in the past. Also the capacitor across the power 0.02uF was melted(replaced now). And we have more like 250V in house here, so I do not want to run this under these circumstances for longer period.
I think that the selene rectifier should be replaced, but this is the 2 diode type so no normal bridge will be possible. I need help with this(I read you need to add a resistor on +DC line). Also I would like to get this coil thing fixed somehow.