UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Amateur and Military Radio

Notices

Vintage Amateur and Military Radio Amateur/military receivers and transmitters, morse, and any other related vintage comms equipment.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 2nd Feb 2019, 12:22 pm   #1
TALKINGWITHPYE
Triode
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Carrickfergus, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, UK.
Posts: 28
Default Yaesu FT817 no SSB

Hello has anyone had problems with an ft817 not working on ssb, mine works ok on fm and am but not on ssb. Any thoughts please?
TALKINGWITHPYE is offline  
Old 2nd Feb 2019, 12:27 pm   #2
Restoration73
Octode
 
Restoration73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Surbiton, SW London, UK.
Posts: 1,662
Default Re: Yaesu ft817 no ssb

Have you tried going into the main menu and set the SSB mic gain (the default is 50) ?
Restoration73 is online now  
Old 2nd Feb 2019, 12:59 pm   #3
MrBungle
Dekatron
 
MrBungle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: London, UK.
Posts: 3,302
Default Re: Yaesu ft817 no ssb

What frequency as well? Some modes are locked out on some bands.
MrBungle is online now  
Old 2nd Feb 2019, 2:32 pm   #4
Barraman
Triode
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Western Isles of Scotland, UK.
Posts: 44
Default Re: Yaesu ft817 no ssb

''Not working''........................transmit or receive or both?
Barraman is offline  
Old 2nd Feb 2019, 2:58 pm   #5
TALKINGWITHPYE
Triode
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Carrickfergus, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, UK.
Posts: 28
Default Re: Yaesu ft817 no ssb

Thanks for replies, I have been looking further and discovered no receive or transmit and ssb mic is set at 50. I have taken the covers off and can't see anything loose but looking for dry joints would be a nightmare.
TALKINGWITHPYE is offline  
Old 2nd Feb 2019, 3:07 pm   #6
SiriusHardware
Nonode
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Newcastle, Tyne and Wear, UK.
Posts: 2,891
Default Re: Yaesu ft817 no ssb

...And is that on all bands as well?

If you have not already tried it, just try doing a factory reset before looking for hardware causes for the problem - it could save you from disturbing the hardware / dismantling things unnecessarily.

If, after that, it looks like a hardware problem, the service manual (technical supplement) should be a good place to start.

http://www.fracassi.net/iw2ntf/manuali/FT817_serv.pdf
SiriusHardware is online now  
Old 2nd Feb 2019, 3:11 pm   #7
TALKINGWITHPYE
Triode
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Carrickfergus, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, UK.
Posts: 28
Default Re: Yaesu ft817 no ssb

Testing on 40metres and 15 metres beside my ft840
TALKINGWITHPYE is offline  
Old 2nd Feb 2019, 3:42 pm   #8
TALKINGWITHPYE
Triode
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Carrickfergus, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, UK.
Posts: 28
Default Re: Yaesu ft817 no ssb

Thanks Siriushardware, you hit it, a factory reset did the4 trick.
TALKINGWITHPYE is offline  
Old 2nd Feb 2019, 4:10 pm   #9
TALKINGWITHPYE
Triode
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Carrickfergus, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, UK.
Posts: 28
Default Re: Yaesu ft817 no ssb

Thanks mods problem solved this one can be closed.
TALKINGWITHPYE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 6:03 pm.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2019, Paul Stenning.