UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Offered and Wanted Messages > Sets, Parts and Service Information Wanted (private buyers only, no swaps)

Notices

Sets, Parts and Service Information Wanted (private buyers only, no swaps) If you need help obtaining components, sets or equipment, post a message here. Private buyers only - no traders. No swaps.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 17th Nov 2019, 1:38 pm   #1
aureus12
Diode
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Bournemouth, Dorset, UK.
Posts: 2
Default B9A plug

I'm refurbishing the mobile PSU for my Codar AT5 and need a couple of B9A plugs to make up the cable between PSU and transmitter. Could anyone point me to a possible source? I've tried the usual - Google, eBay - with no luck.
Thanks

Phil
G3UGK
aureus12 is offline  
Old 17th Nov 2019, 2:24 pm   #2
Cobaltblue
Dekatron
 
Cobaltblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Exeter and Poole, UK.
Posts: 3,276
Default Re: B9A plug

Hi Phil


You mean these ?


https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Vintage-C...sAAOSwJT9cpLFU


Cheers


Mike T
__________________
Don't care if it was a bargain why's it in my kitchen
Mike T BVWS member.
www.cossor.co.uk
Cobaltblue is offline  
Old 17th Nov 2019, 2:52 pm   #3
David G4EBT
Dekatron
 
David G4EBT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cottingham, East Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 3,810
Default Re: B9A plug

Five unused ones available here too:

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Vintage-9....c100005.m1851

Incidentally, the AT5 9-pin power supply socket arrangement poses a hazard to the unwary, in that the male plug is fitted on the lead from the power supply to the transmitter and plugs into a female socket on the rear of the transmitter. From a safety perspective, it ought to have been the other way around, because the male plug from the PSU is live with HT and is only safe when plugged into the transmitter.

Of course, CODAR assumed that users of the equipment would be alert this hazard and would take precautions. However, in the admittedly unlikely event that the plug came out of the TX socket with the PSU switched on, and came into contact with anything metallic or a finger, there could be undesirable consequences. I had an AT5 for a while, and was unimpressed with the single pole slide switches switching mains and HT.

Very poor - even by the standards of the day. Woeful by today's standards.

But now - as back then - with all such equipment, it's a case of 'ride at your own risk'.
__________________
David.
BVWS Member.
G-QRP Club member 1339.
David G4EBT is offline  
Old 17th Nov 2019, 4:20 pm   #4
aureus12
Diode
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Bournemouth, Dorset, UK.
Posts: 2
Default Re: B9A plug

Thanks Mike. Well spotted. I only searched for "B9A" so they didn't show up...

David, yes I'm well aware of the pitfalls and like you was never impressed with some aspects of the design. However, the little Codar was my very first ever transmitter when I got my licence in 1965, and now I'm on a nostalgia trip.

Thankls both, again

Phil
G3UGK
aureus12 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 8:13 pm.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2019, Paul Stenning.