UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Other Discussions > Homebrew Equipment

Notices

Homebrew Equipment A place to show, design and discuss the weird and wonderful electronic creations from the hands of individual members.

Closed Thread

Old 9th Apr 2021, 2:52 pm   #1
regenfreak
Heptode

Default DIY FM tuner with 6CW4 nuvistor and ECC85

This is my first attempt to build a FM tube tuner and is a work in progress. It uses a 6CW4 and a pair of ECC85. The 6CW4 is not really essential but it will make the receiver more selective;and the tiny nuvistor looks "cute". The tuner head is supposed to be mounted on a bigger chassis made out of aluminium.

At the start, I knew it would be significantly more challenging than building MW tube receivers. Since there is no book or web site telling me how to build an FM tuner from scratch, I had to take a deep dive, reading every textbook on FM receivers design theory and studying the schematics of many existing tuners. I don't think many people are interested in DIY FM tube receivers. It seems the majority of hobbyists are interested in homebrewing HAM CW and SSB circuits.

Initially, I was going to use a pair of ECC85 as RF, mixer, oscillator and AFC using a twin gang air variable capacitor. But I have a triple gang variable cap from Ebay of unknown origin. So I have settled with 6CW4 as ground cathode RF tuned amp, and ECC85 as the untuned ground grid RF amp.

I cannot use the three-point tracking solutions for MW receivers because FM's tuning capacitors have a much small Cmax/Cmin capacitance ratio, and a padder is often not used. I derived a simple compatibility equation to allow me to find the trimmer values for my triple gang air variable capacitor so that it tracks perfect perfectly across the whole FM band for a DIY set of RF and oscillator coils.