UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc)

Notices

Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc) Amplifiers, speakers, gramophones and other audio equipment.

Closed Thread

Old 18th Apr 2019, 11:20 am   #1
kitchen10
Diode

Default Bush SRP31D Restoration Questions

Hello!

I have recently acquired a Bush SRP31D portable, fitted with a BSR Monarch UA16 autochanger. I'm totally new to this kind of set, typically I lean more towards the solid-state hifi end of things, and this isn't particularly either of these with the expection of the rectifier! I'm looking to get this portable ship-shape. Hopefully my background in electronic engineering will help me along the way, although I'm a newcomer to valve amplifiers so I'm somewhat out of my transistorised comfort zone!

All in all, it's in pretty good shape - the autochanger works fine (although the automatic record size selector is in need of a good degreasing), the amplifier works and the tone controls both noticeably affect the tone, however there are a few points I'm not so sure on:
  • Very occasionally, the amplifier starts making a hissing sound that increases in volume and eventually disappears after a pop is heard from the speaker. This seems to happen only when the amplifier has been running for a while.
  • I've noticed that the Grundig electrostatic tweeter doesn't seem to work, which seems like a common issue with these models. I've researched some threads that cover the refurbishment of these tweeters, but I fear that I don't have the delicate touch needed for the procedure.