UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > General Vintage Technology > Components and Circuits

Notices

Components and Circuits For discussions about component types, alternatives and availability, circuit configurations and modifications etc. Discussions here should be of a general nature and not about specific sets.

Closed Thread

Old 24th Sep 2014, 10:45 pm   #1
Skywave
Rest in Peace

Question NE602A integrated cct.: experience, anyone?

I'm in the initial stages of researching options for a small home-brew project which will require a VHF mixer with low-level inputs (millivolts range) in the 100 ~ 150 MHz region, both input ports: the NE602A looks like a suitable device for that duty. But I have no experience of this device: does anyone here have such experience with it and can pass on any useful remarks, hints, etc. that are specific to this device? (I say 'specific' since I am quite well acquainted with general constructional practices at those frequencies).

Thanks,

Al. / Skywave / Sept. 24, 2014 //
Old 24th Sep 2014, 11:25 pm   #2
Radio Wrangler

Default Re: NE602A integrated cct.: experience, anyone?

The NE602 is only available now in derivative variants, but not much has changed.

It's described as for use to 200 MHz or so, but it's really designed and specified for use converting 45MHz IFs downwards in dual conversion radio receivers.

The local oscillator which is buitl in is nothing more than a single transistor.

The circuit isn't capable of handling large signals, so it will likely be the dynamic range bottleneck of your design.

It's easy to slag off the Ne602 but it does seem to work better than you'd expect. There are lots and lots of HF receivers in QRP rigs and magazines based on it. G-QRP 'Sudden' for example. Sudden doesn't mean abruptly, George Dobbs church was in an area of Rochdale called 'Sudden'.