UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Amateur and Military Radio

Notices

Vintage Amateur and Military Radio Amateur/military receivers and transmitters, morse, and any other related vintage comms equipment.

Closed Thread

Old 5th Aug 2022, 5:59 pm   #1
zoomer1
Tetrode

Default Purchasing an R1155 receiver

I am a retired mechanical engineer with only basic knowledge of electronics and radio but a lifelong interest in military aviation technology particularly early valve/electronics and radar development. I have been thinking of purchasing an iconic R1155 radio simply for its historical interest but would like it to actually power up and be usable (listen to something). I have read a lot about the difficulties and pitfalls in purchasing and restoring these items to working order so I wondered if the members of this forum could give me some advise?
1/ Could one of these sets in working order receive (or be easily modified to receive) a commercial radio station?
2/ I am assuming that professional restoration to working order would be prohibitively expensive but does anyone have any experience in this avenue of approach?
2/ Can anyone recommend a reliable supplier for a working set?
3/ What stations can be received and what aerial is required?
4/ What power source is required?
5/ Has anyone got a set they are interested in selling?
Thanks in anticipation.
Old 5th Aug 2022, 6:56 pm   #2
G6Tanuki
Dekatron

Default Re: Purchasing an R1155 receiver