UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread

Old 16th Jan 2021, 12:42 pm   #1
KennyP1
Diode

Default Philco 444

Hi everyone.
I'm a newbie to the site and to vintage radios, so apologies for any daft questions that I may ask
I've inherited a Philco 444, seems to be in reasonable condition. (Hopefully pics have uploaded) the radio turns on and lights up , sound from speaker but no station found. I intend to dismantle and clean up as best I can and then attach a new aerial cable. The one with the set is about 5 feet, and reading through other threads I may need a huge one? I have an electrician friend I will get to replace old electric cables. What else should I be doing. How do you know if everything is working correctly (apart from hearing a radio transmission) any tips on order in which to dismantle? So far I’ve just dusted it a little, removed speaker and am cleaning the speaker mesh.
Thank you....any constructive criticism also accepted graciously ��

Click image for larger version

Name:	22BA95B5-4F87-47E5-AFE9-93EA2A698794.jpg
Views:	196
Size:	86.0 KB
ID:	224697

Click image for larger version

Name:	A8F6BA0E-580B-437D-BA55-32EA26503B01.jpg
Views:	186
Size:	87.8 KB
ID:	224698
Old 16th Jan 2021, 1:08 pm   #2
MurphyNut
Heptode

Default Re: Philco 444

You may need to do a bit of research depending on your knowledge, if it hasn't been serviced most of the capacitors will need replacing, not straight forward in this set as they are housed in little Bakelite boxes and quite tricky to do.
Please Note- If you're not familiar with the workings of old radio sets do not attempt to work on it, they can be dangerous.
Old 16th Jan 2021, 2:05 pm   #3
Simon Gittins
Heptode