UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Test Gear and Workshop Equipment

Notices

Vintage Test Gear and Workshop Equipment For discussions about vintage test gear and workshop equipment such as coil winders.

Closed Thread

Old 3rd Nov 2016, 7:23 pm   #1
DrTerror
Retired Dormant Member

Default Any thoughts on a 4in1 909D+ Rework Soldering Iron Desoldering Station?

As the title says, I am thinking of getting one of these for my Christmas pressy, but does anyone know if they are any good?.
Here is the link...

http://diygeezer.com/saike-909d-review/

Now, I am no electronic expert!, but I seem to be soldering, and testing stuff, more and more these days!, so a nice little reflow tool would seem like a good idea, for all those 'dry joints' on all sorts of things, plus it has a PSU built in. I dont have a bench PSU, but would certainly like one!.

I mainly make up HQ audio cables, so this may be a bit overkill, but I do dabble with vintage audio (amps, cd players, turntables, receivers, cross overs,etc), and am learning as I go!.

Any thoughts?

Mods, sorry if this in the wrong section, but I did not know where else to put it...

Last edited by AC/HL; 3rd Nov 2016 at 9:35 pm. Reason: Forum rules
Old 4th Nov 2016, 7:57 am   #2
mole42uk
Nonode

Default Re: Any thoughts on a 4in1 909D+ Rework Soldering Iron Desoldering Station?

I'd be interested to know if spares are still readily available in a couple of years, or even in 30 years (like my Weller)
I'd also make an insulated cover for the power transistor on the rear panel, just in case!

Index:
recursive loop: see recursive loop
Old 4th Nov 2016, 8:21 am   #3
Radio Wrangler

Default Re: Any thoughts on a 4in1 909D+ Rework Soldering Iron Desoldering Station?