UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Other Discussions > Forum Announcements and Comments

Notices

Forum Announcements and Comments Announcements about forum changes will be made in this section.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 28th Nov 2019, 11:53 am   #1
'LIVEWIRE?'
Dekatron
 
'LIVEWIRE?''s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: N.W. Oxfordshire(Chipping Norton)
Posts: 7,081
Question Problems with a link in a PM.

Can someone please tell me why www.radiomuseum.org is O.K. as a link from, e.g., this post or via a google search, but when I included www.radiomuseum.org in a PM to a fellow member earlier this morning, and checked by clicking on the link, a '404 Not Found' appeared. I double checked that I had entered the link correctly, and couldn't see any errors such as mistyping, spelling mistakes, etc. so am puzzled. The forum member in question lives in Taipei (Taiwan) but I don't see why that should make any difference. Just checked and neither link works from this post, but exactly the same URL works if entered in the Google Search Box.
'LIVEWIRE?' is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Nov 2019, 12:06 pm   #2
Station X
Moderator
 
Station X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ipswich, Suffolk, IP4, UK.
Posts: 15,267
Default Re: Problems with a link in a PM.

The links in your post don't work! Here's why.

When you insert a link in a post or PM, what you see and click on is not necessarily the actual url for the webpage linked to. For example eBay links are often several lines of text, but appear in shortened for in a post or PM ie truncated. The forum software knows what the complete url is.

What your post above actually contains is this:-

[XRL="https://www.vintageradio.net/forum/www.radiomuseum.org"]www.radiomuseum.org[/XRL]

I have changed URL to XRL to illustrate the point. Some how you've got vintageradio.net in there, so the 404 message comes from the forums.

If you want to insert a link in a post or PM it's best to copy the URL form the address bar, paste it into your post or PM and let the forum software do the rest.

www.radiomuseum.org.

Never copy a link from a post or PM.
__________________
Graham. Forum Moderator

Keep the soldering iron hot.
Station X is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Nov 2019, 3:01 pm   #3
'LIVEWIRE?'
Dekatron
 
'LIVEWIRE?''s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: N.W. Oxfordshire(Chipping Norton)
Posts: 7,081
Default Re: Problems with a link in a PM.

Thanks for the explanation, Graham. I'll bear that in mind in future. What I did in the above examples, both in my PM and the post, was to click on the 'insert link' icon, then type in 'www.radiomuseum.org', a method I have used many times before without problems.
'LIVEWIRE?' is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 2:35 pm.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2019, Paul Stenning.