UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread

Old 22nd Mar 2021, 1:19 pm   #1
barryman
Triode

Default Bush VHF62 tuning problem

I'm trying to link up an FM transmitter and pick the signal up on the VHF band of this Bush VHF 62. Thanks to advice I got on this form I was about to order an FM transmitter that somebody suggested would achieve what I wanted to do. As a final check I tested the VHF band by going up the scale from left to right. Unfortunately when I got to the top end of the scale the the tuning knob just went into free spin and the tuning indicator stayed in one place ! I guessed that something has come loose inside.

I'm not a radio engineer myself but I thought if it was something
mechanical I might be able to fix it so I took off the back and I think I
can see the problem. The cord that should go round various pulleys to move the tuner seems to have come off its groove but I can't work out how I loop it back over the pulleys - there seems to be no slack in the cord to stretch it back round.

Could anyone give me any tips on how I can do this myself? Failing that, is
there anybody within shouting distance of Watford who would be so kind as to help me do this 5 minute fix if I brought it round??
Any advice on how I can do the above will be greatly appreciated as this is a lovely radio and I want to keep it working.
[/LEFT]
Thanks in advance.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Bush radio 1.jpg
Views:	115
Size:	72.3 KB
ID:	229813   Click image for larger version

Name:	Bush radio 3.jpg
Views:	127
Size:	78.4 KB
ID:	229814   Click image for larger version

Name:	Bush radio 4.jpg
Views:	129
Size:	42.2 KB
ID:	229815  
Old 22nd Mar 2021, 1:29 pm   #2