UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Telephony and Telecomms

Notices

Vintage Telephony and Telecomms Vintage Telephones, Telephony and Telecomms Equipment

Closed Thread

Old 26th Nov 2011, 4:59 pm   #1
only1carra
Retired Dormant Member

Default New type bell In 756 won't ring.

Hi
Just acquired a 756 push button 'phone with the resistor already fitted and the new type bell.

I'm very new to these vintage 'phones but I've converted a few 746 'phones over the last few weeks. I thought this one would be just as straightforward. I've fitted a new cord and the 'phone dials out and has a tone. Unfortunately the 'phone won't actually ring and I can't see any instructions anywhere for converting. Could anybody please help?

I have attached a photo to show how I have wired it, if anyone has a photo of one to compare, it would be handy.

Thanks guys.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SDC12742.jpg
Views:	130
Size:	86.0 KB
ID:	59120  
Old 26th Nov 2011, 5:19 pm   #2
julie_m
Dekatron

Default Re: New type bell In 756 won't ring.

Set your meter to its highest AC volts range, measure across the bell coils and call the phone from your mobile. What do you get? Should be bursts of about 90 V. or thereabouts, in time with the ringing of other phones on the line.
Old 26th Nov 2011, 6:40 pm   #3
AndiiT
Octode

Hi,
First remove the 3K3 resistor fitted to T4-T5 and replace with a strap, it's highly likely that the replacement coils are already the required 4K for use on the "new" system; adding the 3k3 resistor in series with a 4K bell coil will certainly stop it operating.