UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread

Old 12th Jul 2011, 10:20 pm   #1
Crystalstar
Retired Dormant Member

Default Aerial connection

Hi Guys I'm new to all this, but a few months I fell in love with an old Cambridge Pye Tablegram on Trade me bought it and am restoring it.
I'm good with wood as have been working with since I was eight with dads paint stripping gun. However have no electrical knowledge.

I want to try to boost the range of the ariel to pick up other am stations further afeild, not sure if this is possible, can any one assist me?

Had found an Indoor External AM Antenna with 1/8" (3.5mm) stereo connector is for use with the Model One* AM/FM table radio, the Model Satellite AM/FM/SIRIUS Satellite table radio, and the Music System Digital AM/FM/CD Hi-Fi System for improved AM reception.

however I am not sure if you can use this sort of ariel on an old vintage radio or if you can how do you adapt it, any help any one can give me would be greatly appreciated.

Crystalstar.
Old 12th Jul 2011, 10:44 pm   #2
paulsherwin

Default Re: Ariel connection

Old valve radios are designed for use with a long wire aerial. Just connect the longest length of wire you can find, the longer the better. If you have a garden you can run the wire down a wooden fence or hang it between the house and a tree. If you're in a flat try running some wire around the edge of the room.
Old 12th Jul 2011, 10:55 pm   #3
neon indicator
Retired Dormant Member

I've used washing lines. Sometimes specially purchased. Used to use my Mum's even with the washing on it.

Steel cored kind, not cord
Old 13th Jul 2011, 8:14 am   #4
chipp1968
Rest in Peace

Default Re: Aerial connection