UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Test Gear and Workshop Equipment

Notices

Vintage Test Gear and Workshop Equipment For discussions about vintage test gear and workshop equipment such as coil winders.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 7th Sep 2019, 8:48 pm   #1
Ed_Dinning
Dekatron
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne & Wear, UK.
Posts: 5,544
Default Sifam thermocouple ammeter

Hi Folks, I had a nice Sifam thermocouple 0-1A meter and one of the tech's overloaded it and blew the thermocouple. Any idea where I can get another ? Its at least 30 years old, with expanded scale at the higher end so not easy to convert to DC.

Thanks, Ed
Ed_Dinning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Sep 2019, 8:16 am   #2
Diabolical Artificer
Dekatron
 
Diabolical Artificer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sleaford, Lincs. UK.
Posts: 4,533
Default Re: Sifam thermocouple ammeter

Pic Ed and what dia/dimensions ?

Andy.
__________________
Curiosity hasn't killed this cat...so far.
Diabolical Artificer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Sep 2019, 8:56 am   #3
Ed_Dinning
Dekatron
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne & Wear, UK.
Posts: 5,544
Default Re: Sifam thermocouple ammeter

Hi Andy, it has been blasted, but was mounted on a piece of thin paxolin about 10 *10 mm. Thin (0.2mm) wires lead to the actual unenclosed bead.

Ed
Ed_Dinning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Sep 2019, 6:17 pm   #4
Diabolical Artificer
Dekatron
 
Diabolical Artificer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sleaford, Lincs. UK.
Posts: 4,533
Default Re: Sifam thermocouple ammeter

Hi Ed, think I got the wrong end of the stick, thought it was the meter movement itself you wanted. I'm pretty sure I have a panel meter somewhere that says thermocouple on it, it might have the thermocouple itself in it, will look tomorrow for you.

Andy.
__________________
Curiosity hasn't killed this cat...so far.
Diabolical Artificer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Sep 2019, 1:33 pm   #5
Diabolical Artificer
Dekatron
 
Diabolical Artificer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sleaford, Lincs. UK.
Posts: 4,533
Default Re: Sifam thermocouple ammeter

I dug out the meter I mentioned Ed, see pics. It has gizmo in it, that doesn't look like a shunt. Took a pic, but detail may not come out. Essentially it looks like two corriagated copper foil strips, suspended from two bits of paxolin in parallel. In the centre of these suspended from two "hooks", is a very fine wire, which is soldered to each copper strip, roughly in the centre of each. Does this sound like a thermo-couple?

It is not the same as one I've seen on a Marconi TF144H, which had a plastic housing. Yours for the postage if any use, Andy.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC01686.JPG
Views:	69
Size:	161.0 KB
ID:	189770   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC01687.JPG
Views:	79
Size:	162.8 KB
ID:	189771  
__________________
Curiosity hasn't killed this cat...so far.
Diabolical Artificer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Sep 2019, 8:19 pm   #6
Ed_Dinning
Dekatron
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne & Wear, UK.
Posts: 5,544
Default Re: Sifam thermocouple ammeter

Hi Andy, thanks for that I'll PM you my address.

Ed
Ed_Dinning is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:01 am.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2019, Paul Stenning.