UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread

Old 29th May 2021, 10:32 pm   #1
mancunian69
Pentode

Default HMV 501 Radiogram issues

Hi all,
I have been restoring this set for a customer for the past 5 months now and I can not get the gramophone to work. There is no audio output.

The original HMV headshell was open circuit and could not be repaired. I have replaced that with a Collaro headshell, which fits on the same.
I have measured the resistance of the output wires and it measures about 2.6k Ohm. Is this about right?
The headshell has new twin core coax wiring. Also new coax from gram connections to amplifier.

I have connected a 1kHz tone to the input of the amplifier and I can hear a tone, albeit up to a certain volume level, then it goes quiet.

I have connected the gram ouputs to my scope and I can see a signal. The level of this signal I am not sure what it should be on a gramophone like this. I haven't worked on 78rpm items before.

The radio works fine, but it is starting to become infuriating as to why the gramophone will not work. I've spent weeks and weeks repairing, restoring and French polishing this unit, but now, I just feel like grabbing the biggest hammer I can find and smashing it to pieces. If this was my set I would have done it by now!

I have noticed that one of the gram wires is grounded. Is there a reason for that?

I need help with this one to get it over the line.

Rgds

Michael.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0738.jpg
Views:	297
Size:	150.3 KB
ID:	235072  
Old 29th May 2021, 11:16 pm   #2
Cobaltblue

Default Re: HMV 501 Radiogram issues

That looks amazing puts my still unrestored 501 to shame.