UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Test Gear and Workshop Equipment

Notices

Vintage Test Gear and Workshop Equipment For discussions about vintage test gear and workshop equipment such as coil winders.

Closed Thread

Old 11th Feb 2014, 9:09 pm   #1
vinrads
Dekatron

Default Using a sweep generator

Hi,

I am thinking of buying a sig gen with sweep function.

I have no experience in using this type for IF alignment; interested in your thoughts. Mick.
Old 11th Feb 2014, 9:17 pm   #2
Herald1360
Dekatron

Default Re: Using a sweep generator

You need to be able to sweep it over a suitable frequency range- for IF alignment something like +/- 20kHz or so on frequencies between about 50kHz and 1MHz, and +/- 500kHz or so at 10.7MHz should do for most jobs. The sweep rate needs to be fast enough (>10Hz or so) to give a reasonable refresh rate but not so fast (kHz) that the bandwidth of the IF you're tweaking starts to affect the response.

It'll need a suitable sweep output to drive a 'scope X input and you'll need a detector probe to feed the Y input. If the sweep input is external, you'll also need a suitable audio generator to drive that and the 'scope X input simultaneously.
.........O..Chris....O
Old 11th Feb 2014, 11:16 pm   #3
ronbryan
Octode

You will also need a calibrated marker oscillator to show the centre frequency of the sweep and other points on the alignment waveform, as required by the IF strip's alignment specification.

Ron
Old 12th Feb 2014, 10:58 am   #4
vinrads
Dekatron

Thanks for the explanation Chris and Rob next question is which one to buy I was thinking around £300/ £400 spend any recommendations please, Mick.
Old 12th Feb 2014, 1:39 pm   #5
Bazz4CQJ
Dekatron