UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Test Gear and Workshop Equipment

Notices

Vintage Test Gear and Workshop Equipment For discussions about vintage test gear and workshop equipment such as coil winders.

Closed Thread

Old 13th Aug 2020, 6:34 pm   #1
Biggenz
Diode

Default Marconi 2955A

I've used many radio communications test sets over the years and have just bought myself a Marconi 2955A, which incidentally I've never used before.

Not a problem as a test set is a test set right? Well I can't seem to work out how to select the ctcss tones on RX test. In the tones menu I'm expecting to see an option called ctcss or sub audible tones, but there's nothing of the kind. There are two sub menus, one for analogue and one for digital. The analog sub menu has 5 tone, dtmf etc. and the digital has dcs, pogsac etc.

How do I select the ctcss tones I want??
Old 13th Aug 2020, 7:46 pm   #2
Dickie
Octode

Default Re: Marconi 2955A

The recommended (and only) way to do it is to set up the 2nd audio generator as the CTCSS tone.

Richard, BVWS member
Old 13th Aug 2020, 8:47 pm   #3
Biggenz
Diode

I see. Thanks for that. Pretty simple if you think about it.

Do you know if there's any way to decode the ctcss in TX mode?
Old 13th Aug 2020, 8:57 pm   #4
Superscope
Octode

I was going to say, I didn't think the 2955 had native CTCSS.

The later version of the 2955 did, can't remember the Model
Number off hand, might be the 2960.

Ian
Old 13th Aug 2020, 9:25 pm   #5
Dickie
Octode

Quote:
Originally Posted by Biggenz View Post

Do you know if there's any way to decode the ctcss in TX mode?

I think the only way to do it is to do it using the mod. meter functions. Won't work if there's other modulation on at the same time, of course, unless one of the filters can be used.

Richard, BVWS member