UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > General Vintage Technology > Success Stories

Notices

Success Stories If you have successfully repaired or restored a piece of equipment, why not write up what you did and post details here. Particularly if it was interesting, unusual or challenging. PLEASE DO NOT POST REQUESTS FOR HELP HERE!

Closed Thread

Old 2nd Sep 2015, 3:47 pm   #1
Tinman1
Retired Dormant Member

Default My first success, Hacker Democrat .

Hi. I'm new to the vintage radio scene, if there is such a thing?
Anyway I posted on my introduction that I had bought a "job lot" of Hacker radios , 2x RP18, one which worked and one which doesn't, and a Rp34 Democrat a nice little blue radio which when it arrived it was totally dead, the tuning cord was off and the MW LW buttons were stuck fast!
After searching the forums on here, And downloading a manual its now back to life and works !
I had to "zap" 4 of the transistors and replace some capacitors ...
It works well on MW and picks up quite a few stations and sounds nice and clear. Not so good on LW. It only seems to pick up one station and picks up a lot of interference .
I've still got a bit of work to do on the case but I'm quite pleased with myself

Paul.
Old 5th Sep 2015, 11:13 pm   #2
Wellington
Hexode

Thumbs up Re: My first success, Hacker Democrat .

It's always a good feeling to get something that seems totally broken back into working condition - so well done!

I hope this is just the beginning…
Old 6th Sep 2015, 6:28 am   #3
Radio Wrangler

Default Re: My first success, Hacker Democrat .