UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Computers

Notices

Vintage Computers Any vintage computer systems, calculators, video games etc., but with an emphasis on 1980s and earlier equipment.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 15th Apr 2021, 8:56 am   #41
SiriusHardware
Dekatron
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Newcastle, Tyne and Wear, UK.
Posts: 6,302
Default Re: Commodore PET working intermittently

John, a favour to ask - as you've probably seen there is another epic PET repair thread on the go - we are up to the point where you were a long time ago, needing to replace at least two of the IEEE 488 buffers.

I remember that the ones you bought were sold as MC3446 substitutes, but I can't remember what the devices were that you actually received and fitted. When you get a moment would you mind reading the part numbers off those?
SiriusHardware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Apr 2021, 7:10 pm   #42
John Earland
Hexode
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 442
Default Re: Commodore PET working intermittently

Quote:
Originally Posted by SiriusHardware View Post
John, a favour to ask - as you've probably seen there is another epic PET repair thread on the go - we are up to the point where you were a long time ago, needing to replace at least two of the IEEE 488 buffers.

I remember that the ones you bought were sold as MC3446 substitutes, but I can't remember what the devices were that you actually received and fitted. When you get a moment would you mind reading the part numbers off those?
Hi, yes of course. Let me trawl through my emails and I will get back to you asap. I obtained them from a chap in the Czech Republic I think! I'll have a look and get back to you.
John Earland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Apr 2021, 7:36 pm   #43
John Earland
Hexode
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 442
Default Re: Commodore PET working intermittently

The actual numbers were 1820-1689 K8139
Hope that helps, J
John Earland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Apr 2021, 7:57 pm   #44
SiriusHardware
Dekatron
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Newcastle, Tyne and Wear, UK.
Posts: 6,302
Default Re: Commodore PET working intermittently

Do they look like this?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Motorola_1820_1689.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	92.0 KB
ID:	231861  
SiriusHardware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Apr 2021, 2:42 am   #45
ortek_service
Hexode
 
ortek_service's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Northampton, Northamptonshire, UK.
Posts: 421
Default Re: Commodore PET working intermittently

I had tried looking again on https://dsmcz.com/prestashop/
that had been mentioned on the previous thread, I discovered via Googling MC3446 equivalent: https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/...163589&page=13

However, it seems they no longer have any MC3446's (or the HP in-house part numbered 1820-1689 I've now tried).
So the MC3446AP - 4+VAT at Cricklewood Electronics - now seem the cheapest / easiest for these (Unless there are now others with stocks of the 1820-1689 numbered one)
ortek_service is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Apr 2021, 7:55 am   #46
John Earland
Hexode
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 442
Default Re: Commodore PET working intermittently

Quote:
Originally Posted by SiriusHardware View Post
Do they look like this?
Hi, yes these are the ICs.
John Earland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Apr 2021, 8:02 am   #47
John Earland
Hexode
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 442
Default Re: Commodore PET working intermittently

Quote:
Originally Posted by ortek_service View Post
I had tried looking again on https://dsmcz.com/prestashop/
that had been mentioned on the previous thread, I discovered via Googling MC3446 equivalent: https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/...163589&page=13

However, it seems they no longer have any MC3446's (or the HP in-house part numbered 1820-1689 I've now tried).
So the MC3446AP - 4+VAT at Cricklewood Electronics - now seem the cheapest / easiest for these (Unless there are now others with stocks of the 1820-1689 numbered one)
Yes, fortunately I bought three at the time-which I have susequently needed! I believe they were the only ones they had but I am going back some time and assumed they would have more in. I'm assuming that the Cricklewood Electronics ones will work?
John Earland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Apr 2021, 8:02 am   #48
John Earland
Hexode
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 442
Default Re: Commodore PET working intermittently

My intermittent issue seems to be a problem with the reset line!
John Earland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Apr 2021, 8:04 am   #49
John Earland
Hexode
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 442
Default Re: Commodore PET working intermittently

There's this one for 14.39 https://www.littlediode.com/components/MC3446.html
John Earland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Apr 2021, 9:54 am   #50
SiriusHardware
Dekatron
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Newcastle, Tyne and Wear, UK.
Posts: 6,302
Default Re: Commodore PET working intermittently

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Earland View Post
My intermittent issue seems to be a problem with the reset line!
Can I ask what's led you to that conclusion?
SiriusHardware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Apr 2021, 3:26 pm   #51
John Earland
Hexode
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 442
Default Re: Commodore PET working intermittently

Quote:
Originally Posted by SiriusHardware View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Earland View Post
My intermittent issue seems to be a problem with the reset line!
Can I ask what's led you to that conclusion?
It's the voltage levels I've been told. Someone is kindly looking at it for me - not sure it's coming out of full reset. The reset to the CPU is going low but not fully high. I think that could also be a bad connector issue too.
John Earland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Apr 2021, 3:39 pm   #52
SiriusHardware
Dekatron
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Newcastle, Tyne and Wear, UK.
Posts: 6,302
Default Re: Commodore PET working intermittently

As it's already in hand and you don't have it at the moment anyway, we won't interfere with the process but we are always interested to know about causes and effects, so it would be interesting to know what your looker finds.
SiriusHardware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Apr 2021, 5:57 pm   #53
John Earland
Hexode
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 442
Default Re: Commodore PET working intermittently

Quote:
Originally Posted by SiriusHardware View Post
As it's already in hand and you don't have it at the moment anyway, we won't interfere with the process but we are always interested to know about causes and effects, so it would be interesting to know what your looker finds.
I will certainly update the thread when I know more. I also think one of the 3446s has gone bad. Luckily I had bought three way back when, only used 2 so had a spare!
John Earland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Apr 2021, 6:05 pm   #54
SiriusHardware
Dekatron
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Newcastle, Tyne and Wear, UK.
Posts: 6,302
Default Re: Commodore PET working intermittently

It it one of the recent replacements which you think has failed or is it the remaining, as yet unreplaced one? Interfaces like that are particularly prone to damage by connection / disconnection of an attached device while the power is on, so definitely don't get into the habit of doing that.
SiriusHardware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Apr 2021, 7:05 pm   #55
John Earland
Hexode
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 442
Default Re: Commodore PET working intermittently

Quote:
Originally Posted by SiriusHardware View Post
It it one of the recent replacements which you think has failed or is it the remaining, as yet unreplaced one? Interfaces like that are particularly prone to damage by connection / disconnection of an attached device while the power is on, so definitely don't get into the habit of doing that.
It's the original one. It was rather rusty too. The other two had gone previously so it was just a matter of time me thinks. It's got a new socket now which will help and I've just ordered a few more replacements for the 3446s just in case!

I will definately not do the connection/disconnection whilst power is on again!
John Earland is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT. The time now is 3:49 pm.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2021, Paul Stenning.