UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Telephony and Telecomms

Notices

Vintage Telephony and Telecomms Vintage Telephones, Telephony and Telecomms Equipment

Closed Thread

Old 13th Sep 2014, 5:58 am   #1
oldphoney
Retired Dormant Member

Default What is this component called?

Greetings,
First post here, total noob.
Bought a pair of Ericsson BCI 339 telephones, excited to restore them.

One is working well. The second works after comparing the wiring and rectifying a simple inversion — but the sound is a tad crackly and muffled. Not the fault of the earpiece (swapping them changes nothing).

The "good one" has one component that the "bad one" lacks. I know nothing about electronics, and I'm sure most of you will know whether that small block that says "50-A" on the left side is a capacitor, a resistance or a pizza. Would love to buy that component and wire it in.

Thanks in advance for any insights!
Wishing you all a beautiful weekend
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	guts-of-bci-339.jpg
Views:	455
Size:	67.5 KB
ID:	97455   Click image for larger version

Name:	someones-bci.jpg
Views:	267
Size:	6.3 KB
ID:	97456  
Old 13th Sep 2014, 10:13 am   #2
lesmw0sec
Octode

Default Re: What is this component called?

Don't know this phone at all, but the component looks like a fairly hefty inductor. Am I right in thinking that it only has two connections?

Les.
Old 13th Sep 2014, 11:55 am   #3
ThePillenwerfer
Octode

This is little more than a guess but that mystery part may be a buzzer.

As for the poor sound quality, the first thing I'd rule out is the microphone (or 'Transmitter,' to use the correct terminology). Try swapping those as you did with the earpieces ('Receivers').

Good luck

Joe
Old 13th Sep 2014, 10:23 pm   #4
keithinuk
Retired Dormant Member