UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread

Old 22nd Feb 2012, 10:33 am   #1
Daventry 5XX
Pentode

Post Bush VHF54 FM Aerial

Hi all

I need to construct some sort of external aerial for the FM on a Bush VHF54
that I am working on.

The internal aerial is damaged beyond repair,but Ive heard that they are a waste of time anyway

As a novice I dont really know whats required.

Ive tried just putting a length of wire into the two holes but that didnt seem to make any difference.

Any suggestions please

Alan
Old 22nd Feb 2012, 11:01 am   #2
G8HQP Dave
Rest in Peace

Default Re: Bush VHF54 FM Aerial

Have you tried Google? Plenty of designs on the web. Look for folded dipole.
Old 22nd Feb 2012, 12:25 pm   #3
Nickthedentist
Dekatron

Are you getting any FM reception at all? 3 feet of insulated wire poked into either of the holes should give you some stations, assuming you don't live miles away from the transmitter.

Fancier designs will be better, but not drastically so, IMHO.
Old 22nd Feb 2012, 1:28 pm   #4
Daventry 5XX
Pentode

Nothing at all

I live in North Wales,near Caernarfon,probably not ideal,some big mountains in the way

Alan
Old 22nd Feb 2012, 1:59 pm   #5
Nickthedentist
Dekatron

Can you get lots of stations on a modern FM set?

These early VHF sets are rarely very sensitive and you might have to replace the two EF80s (and all the wax/paper caps) to get anywhere near good results.
Old 22nd Feb 2012, 2:01 pm   #6
TimS
Pentode

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dickiebird View Post
Nothing at all

I live in North Wales,near Caernarfon,probably not ideal,some big mountains in the way

Alan
There's an FM transmitter on Anglesey, so just small hills in the way.