UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > General Vintage Technology > Components and Circuits

Notices

Components and Circuits For discussions about component types, alternatives and availability, circuit configurations and modifications etc. Discussions here should be of a general nature and not about specific sets.

Closed Thread

Old 24th Aug 2017, 6:45 pm   #1
Biggles
Rest in Peace

Default A simple mistake?

I have been building and repairing circuitry for over forty years, and somewhat arrogantly thought that I was competent. But recently, I fell into a daft trap while constructing a simple transistor based phono pre-amp. After building a circuit copied in the most part from a commercial design, but using veroboard, all was ready to power up and test. So far so good. I connected a low level audio signal to the input of the first channel (it was a stereo pre-amp) and scoped the output after checking the DC conditions. All perfect and working. Right, connect up the other channel. Very low output. DC conditions all perfect. Spent about three evenings trying to work out why the output was low. Tearing my hair out. Now here's the funny bit. I eventually twigged that the low output channel was in fact the correctly operating one. The "duff" channel had an o/c in the feedback circuit and the gain was sky high. Oh dear. On fixing the fault all is good. So, always look for the obvious, a lesson I have still to learn.
Alan.
Old 24th Aug 2017, 7:01 pm   #2
G6Tanuki
Dekatron

Default Re: A simple mistake?

Reminds me of the time I replaced the scratchy RF/IF gain-control pot on a HF receiver.

It was a 2-gangs-on-one-knob type (like a stereo volume-control) - one gang controlling the RF stages, the second gang the IF, with different 'laws' to take into account the different valves in the front-end and IF chains.