UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread

Old 23rd Jul 2017, 2:51 pm   #1
HenryRo
Retired Dormant Member

Default Advice on replacing IF transformer

Hi, I am new to radios and am trying to restart a Stewart Warner 62T36. The first IF transformer is bad (455kHz, part number 502102 or 16-6658). Does anyone know if these can be replaced? Where would I buy one? Thanks!! Henry
Old 23rd Jul 2017, 3:09 pm   #2
paulsherwin

Default Re: Advice on replacing IF transformer

What is the fault with the transformer? Unlike European sets, American radios of this era are notorious for faults in the padding capacitors inside the transformers.
Old 23rd Jul 2017, 3:22 pm   #3
ms660
Dekatron

According to the schematic the IF transformer's tuning capacitors are of the variable type, need more info regarding the defect:

http://www.nostalgiaair.org/pagesbym...7/M0020757.pdf

Lawrence.
Old 23rd Jul 2017, 5:14 pm   #4
HenryRo
Retired Dormant Member

Hi, from what I can gather on this item the primary and secondary should read 20R. The primary is 20R but the secondary is infinity. There must be a break.
Old 23rd Jul 2017, 5:20 pm   #5
HenryRo
Retired Dormant Member

Actually the primary is 22.9R and secondary is broke. Here is a picture of the little beast.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Photo on 23-07-2017 at 17.15.jpg
Views:	419
Size:	63.5 KB
ID:	146695  
Old 23rd Jul 2017, 6:47 pm   #6
HenryRo
Retired Dormant Member

I found this:-

http://www.antiqueradios.com/forums/...c.php?t=165802

I'll give it a try, I just need to pick-up a 100K resistor.
Old 23rd Jul 2017, 6:54 pm   #7
usradcoll1
Heptode

Quote:
Originally Posted by ms660 View Post