UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Television and Video

Notices

Vintage Television and Video Vintage television and video equipment, programmes, VCRs etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 18th Jan 2020, 10:17 am   #61
thermionic
Heptode
 
thermionic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Cornwall, UK.
Posts: 696
Default Re: Philips G8 G22K522

Thatís a promising start!

Please DO ensure you measure and check the HT voltage at the 800mA fuse as mentioned previously by many others.

As you have moved both the Set HT, and Overvolts presets, itís very important to check this.

Too high a HT will stress this old girl, and you donít want to cause any damage. With the set disconnected from the mains, connect your red meter lead to the HT fuse, your black meter lead to chassis. Set your meter to DC Volts on a range of at least 250 Volts or higher.

Switch the set on, and check the voltage. Adjust the Set HT preset for 200 Volts.


Good luck!


SimonT.
__________________
The honesty of imperfection..........
thermionic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Jan 2020, 3:08 pm   #62
19Seventy7
Heptode
 
19Seventy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: London, UK.
Posts: 810
Default Re: Philips G8 G22K522

Hi,

Iíll get to checking the set later on, or tomorrow at latest. The set wont be powered on again until itís been adjusted.

Thanks for your help
Ď77
19Seventy7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jan 2020, 12:05 am   #63
rambo1152
Octode
 
rambo1152's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Manchester, UK.
Posts: 1,586
Default Re: Philips G8 G22K522

Quote:
Originally Posted by 19Seventy7 View Post
Are there two different controls for the guns on the convergence panel? Thereís three at the bottom, which are just simple push button, which I figured turns the guns off or on, no different brightnesses. I havenít looked around in there much, apart from the on/off buttons.
Apologies for misleading you, I thought the A1 pots were there as will as the push-buttons. It would be good if you posted a picture of those hidden convergence controls to remind me what they looked like.
__________________
--
Graham.
G3ZVT
rambo1152 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jan 2020, 1:43 am   #64
19Seventy7
Heptode
 
19Seventy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: London, UK.
Posts: 810
Default Re: Philips G8 G22K522

No problem at all, for all I knew, you were right. I've attached a photo below.

The set was reading at 297 volts in it's original(ish) position! It's now at 200 volts.

Although now I cant seem to get EHT. I've not got a line whistle, and even giving the set a smack doesn't bring it back, like it used to. Dry/cracked joint(s) will be hunted down soon.

Thanks for your help, I really appreciate it
'77
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	G8Convergence.jpg
Views:	96
Size:	42.7 KB
ID:	197377  
19Seventy7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jan 2020, 3:11 pm   #65
rambo1152
Octode
 
rambo1152's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Manchester, UK.
Posts: 1,586
Default Re: Philips G8 G22K522

Are you sure your meter is OK, Is it set for DC volts?
I am surprised you can adjust the PSU to be as high as 297v and even more surprised that the output transistors survived.

Thanks for that the picture
Anyway I wasn't mistaken after all. Feel free to adjust the three Grey scale setting pots, they are in fact the A1 (first anode) controls under a different name.
__________________
--
Graham.
G3ZVT

Last edited by rambo1152; 19th Jan 2020 at 3:33 pm.
rambo1152 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jan 2020, 4:04 pm   #66
linescan87
Hexode
 
linescan87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Meath, Ireland
Posts: 372
Default Re: Philips G8 G22K522

I'd be surprised if you could get anywhere near that H.T. What multimeter are you using? Perhaps post a picture of your meter..
__________________
All the best, John Joe

www.youtube.com/c/ojnojirishvintagetvandradio
linescan87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jan 2020, 10:48 pm   #67
19Seventy7
Heptode
 
19Seventy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: London, UK.
Posts: 810
Default Re: Philips G8 G22K522

I wouldn't be surprised if it is a bit faulty, it was very cheap, around £10 online.

I set it to 600V (V-), because it goes from 200 - 600.

I thought that perhaps a resistor or something had failed, letting the PSU get to that high voltage?

Thanks for letting me know about the A1 controls, i'd have just thought they were still part of the convergence controls. I'll give those a twiddle and see if i get anything else on screen.

Picture of meter:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DMM.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	57.7 KB
ID:	197451  
19Seventy7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jan 2020, 11:02 pm   #68
ms660
Dekatron
 
ms660's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Cornwall, UK.
Posts: 8,598
Default Re: Philips G8 G22K522

Quote:
Originally Posted by 19Seventy7 View Post
I wouldn't be surprised if it is a bit faulty, it was very cheap, around £10 online.

I set it to 600V (V-), because it goes from 200 - 600.

I thought that perhaps a resistor or something had failed, letting the PSU get to that high voltage?

Thanks for letting me know about the A1 controls, i'd have just thought they were still part of the convergence controls. I'll give those a twiddle and see if i get anything else on screen.

Picture of meter:
600 to the left of OFF or 600 to the right of OFF?

V~ is to measure AC, you want to measure DC.

Lawrence.
ms660 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jan 2020, 11:08 pm   #69
19Seventy7
Heptode
 
19Seventy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: London, UK.
Posts: 810
Default Re: Philips G8 G22K522

Hi sorry, should've cleared that up, it was to the left of OFF.

Thanks
'77
19Seventy7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jan 2020, 12:00 am   #70
linescan87
Hexode
 
linescan87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Meath, Ireland
Posts: 372
Default Re: Philips G8 G22K522

I'd try to get a better meter if I was you, loads of reviews on YouTube. An auto ranging multimeter would be easier. You could probably pick up a better meter for not much more money. A multimeter is the most important tool in this game.

Just my thoughts..
__________________
All the best, John Joe

www.youtube.com/c/ojnojirishvintagetvandradio
linescan87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jan 2020, 2:08 am   #71
19Seventy7
Heptode
 
19Seventy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: London, UK.
Posts: 810
Default Re: Philips G8 G22K522

I have been planning on getting a better one soon, but I've never had the money.

I've just had a look online and found a couple, I'll order one soon. I'll remeasure the voltage and go from there.

In the mean time, i'll hunt down any dry/cracked joints and see how it goes.

Thanks
'77
19Seventy7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 9:15 am.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2020, Paul Stenning.