UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Telephony and Telecomms

Notices

Vintage Telephony and Telecomms Vintage Telephones, Telephony and Telecomms Equipment

Closed Thread

Old 5th Aug 2007, 8:58 pm   #1
kitty040374
Retired Dormant Member

Smile replace 746 dial label

Hi

I'm wondering if anyone can help? I'm wanting to change the dial label on a 746 I've recently acquired. I can't seem to find any instructions as to how to do this. Can anyone give me some pointers? As detailed and non-techy as possible, as I'm new to this.

Thanks
K
Old 5th Aug 2007, 9:25 pm   #2
Dave Moll
Dekatron

Default Re: replace 746 dial label

I am not clear whether your problem is in removing the dial cover to change the label or sourcing a replacement label.

If the former, it is just a matter of prising off the central plastic disc. If the latter, the attached image may be of help.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	700LABEL.JPG
Views:	2979
Size:	18.0 KB
ID:	11342  
Old 5th Aug 2007, 10:11 pm   #3
russell_w_b
Dekatron

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Moll View Post

If the former, it is just a matter of prising off the central plastic disc. If the latter, the attached image may be of help.
I find the best way (especially for those stubborn jobbies) is to use a little plastic suction cup, of the sort used on the end of kids' bow-and-arrow sets. This facilitates easy removal without cracking the thin lip of plastic around the periphery of the central plastic disc.

Russell W. B.
G4YLI.
Old 5th Aug 2007, 10:12 pm   #4
AndiiT
Octode

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Moll View Post
......If the former, it is just a matter of prising off the central plastic disc. If the latter, the attached image may be of help.