UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > General Vintage Technology > Components and Circuits

Notices

Components and Circuits For discussions about component types, alternatives and availability, circuit configurations and modifications etc. Discussions here should be of a general nature and not about specific sets.

Closed Thread

Old 17th Jun 2022, 4:46 pm   #1
6SN7WGTB
Hexode

Default Output impedance of Pantry Tx circuit

Am tinkering with a pantry Tx and in pursuit of wringing out every possible mW (or maybe µW!) was curious as to the output impedance of the Tx - essentially so that I could tinker equally with various simple aerials which I can test to some degree using a nanoVNA.

The Tx uses a MOSFET to drive the output, which then goes through a pi network before arriving at the aerial.

I'm not experienced in this area at all, so I have some questions:
1. Is the driver FET essentially presenting minimal impedance to the pi network?
2. So it's the pi network that is setting the output impedance?
3. And if I 'match' that to the aerial impedance at my Tx frequency then I will achieve maximal power transfer?
4. Can I measure that output impedance? (I have an RF VM with a 1M input impedance which I can load up accordingly).

As an aside I modified the Tx pi to have a small VC which so far I have simply trimmed to give me greatest voltage on a nearby voltage-double RF probe connected to a DMM. (So, sort of optimised, but I'm left curious as to whether I am 'matching' well enough...)
Old 17th Jun 2022, 5:37 pm   #2
mickm3for
Heptode

Default Re: Output impedance of Pantry Tx circuit

Hi its the pi network that matches the pa to the aerial as well as some filtering. Tune for max current in the aerial to get max power out Mick
Old 17th Jun 2022, 5:56 pm   #3
paulsherwin