UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc)

Notices

Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc) Amplifiers, speakers, gramophones and other audio equipment.

Closed Thread

Old 25th Sep 2017, 11:21 am   #1
paul llewellyn
Retired Dormant Member

Default Sobell SG670 stereogram circa 1958.

Hi folks. this is my first time on ANY forum so please bear with me. I have just bought a sobell stereogram which does not have a needle or the housing, there are 4 wires in the arm and that is all. Is it still possible to buy a replacement so that i can get my records playing again. Paul Llew
Old 25th Sep 2017, 12:15 pm   #2
Herald1360
Dekatron

Default Re: sobell stereogram circa 1958

The simple answer is yes.....but!

The but depends on exactly what type of cartridge (the complete transducer plus stylus assembly that converts the mechanical stylus movement into an electrical signal) was fitted in the first place to your stereogram. Some types of cartridge are effectively unobtainium and may require modifications to the player to fit something else instead.

It may also depend on what sort of amplifier the stereogram has- older valve types may have some well known (luckily cheap) components whose failure can cause expensive to fix problems. So best starting advice there is don't turn it on just to see if it works if it's a valve model.

Can you say exactly what model the stereogram is?- There should be a label somewhere with a model or type number on it.

A good clear picture or two showing the underside of the business end of the arm that carries the cartridge and a general view of the record deck itself to identify the make/model is also very helpful since someone here will know what's what for just about any model.