UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Tape (Audio), Cassette, Wire and Magnetic Disc Recorders and Players

Notices

Vintage Tape (Audio), Cassette, Wire and Magnetic Disc Recorders and Players Open-reel tape recorders, cassette recorders, 8-track players etc.

Closed Thread

Old 20th May 2012, 8:44 pm   #1
Spanner93
Retired Dormant Member

Default Reel To Reel recording

Hi, I'm an 18 year old student with an interest for vintage musical gear, and I would like to start recording using a Reel-to-Reel recorder. Partially because I like that vintage sound and old analogue gear and also because I am a broke student who doesn't have the funds to get a modern equivalent.

Sadly, I'm a bit out of my depth regarding what to look for in a recorder and the precise technology behind recording. To put it simply, I have no idea where to start and I am completely out of my depth.

What I would like the recorder to be capable of: Recording several different instruments (not necessarily simultaneously) and playback of that recording, either through the unit or through external speakers.

Instrument wise, I would like to be able to hook up a 6-string, a bass guitar and possibly a microphone (not simultaneously).

Please help
Old 20th May 2012, 11:00 pm   #2
Radio Wrangler

Default Re: Reel To Reel recording

Ah, "not simultaneously" is the key phrase. Does it mean that you want to add one track at a time and then later mix the individual recordings to a final stereo version on a second machine?