UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Test Gear and Workshop Equipment

Notices

Vintage Test Gear and Workshop Equipment For discussions about vintage test gear and workshop equipment such as coil winders.

Closed Thread

Old 30th Nov 2018, 12:34 am   #1
Brockie
Triode

Default Taylor Valve tester 45D - What to check?

Hi all,

Regularly on forums (in fact run one - Nothing to do with stuff this interesting though!). I'm an electronic engineer (allegedly), however on newer stuff than is featured on here, and being a bit of a fan of older equipment and Tech i have managed to pick up a Taylor 45D Valve tester (untested!) to aid me in my work. I have a small workshop which is a little cold to work in this time of year, however a slightly warmer "desk" in a heated outhouse adjacent to it where i can do a little work on slightly less messy stuff

I was wondering if you kind souls/Experts in this field could advise the best way of testing these units themselves (short of actually throwing a bunch of valves of differing valve types in - if there is such a way!) - I'd like to be able to ensure that when it arrives it is functioning as it should be, since i should have a couple of weeks from arrival to fire it back if it doesnt work properly!

I'm looking to get into the restoration of older Radio and TV equipment.. hence why i thought it would be nice to be able to get the skills now whilst i can... Have picked up a couple of the old favourites (Bush DAC90A's and Pye P75's) - yes i'm aware of the live chassis "issues"