UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Amateur and Military Radio

Notices

Vintage Amateur and Military Radio Amateur/military receivers and transmitters, morse, and any other related vintage comms equipment.

Closed Thread

Old 23rd Oct 2020, 2:24 pm   #1
dsan224
Triode

Default R1155 Modern Power Supply

Hello all.

I'm rather new to vintage radios having just got an R1155 and I'm keen to know if anyone happens to sell a modern power supply for the beast?

I know there is an option to build one, which might be the only option, but figured there was no harm in asking first.

Thanks again and look forward to learning as much as I can about this radio.
Old 23rd Oct 2020, 3:00 pm   #2
vosperd
Hexode

Default Re: R1155 Modern Power Supply

Hi.
As far as I know there is no-one selling ready made psus for the 1155 receiver.
If you are lucky you might find someone selling a home made one.
The best bet is to make your own and then you can be sure of its safety.
There is info on the web if you search for it. The usual psus have an audio amp for a loudspeaker as the 1155, as it stands, only has a headphone output.
Finding a suitable mains transformer might be a problem. You don't have to use valve rectifiers or valve audio output valve.
I'm sure you will find useful advice here when you decide on a course of action.
Don m5aky
Old 23rd Oct 2020, 3:30 pm   #3
dave walsh
Dekatron

Location: Ramsbottom (Nr Bury) Lancs or Bexhill (Nr Hastings) Sussex.