UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > General Vintage Technology > General Vintage Technology Discussions

Notices

General Vintage Technology Discussions For general discussions about vintage radio and other vintage electronics etc.

Closed Thread

Old 5th Sep 2017, 5:39 pm   #1
collisr
Pentode

Default Exploding X2 capacitors

Hi all - wondered if the community might be able to advise me.

After many years collecting various formats of video tape, finally got round to attempting digital transfers. With help from some of the community here and PALsite, been able to fix a great deal of players, but been finding Video 2000 players a real pig!

Anyways.. to my current problem. And remember, I am an amateur with under a year of experience in these things, so please be gentle with me. My latest acquisition (a Grundig 2x4 Super Video 2000 player) keeps blowing it's X2 mains capacitors and I don't know why.

I sort of expected it's original one to blow (it lasted about 30 mins) during the start of my renovation. It has 2 X2 caps (0.47uF/250v ; 0.22uF/250v) and the latter had shattered. I ordered some NOS caps from a certain auction site and I replaced both. The .22uF is a "modern" yellow, square type but the .47uF looks like an original WIMA MP3 - identical to the original 35yo one.

Upon re-connecting the machine, this WIMA replacement NOS also exploded after about 5 mins.

My question: Have I been unlucky in buying a dud NOS cap or should I be checking something else isn't wrong? According to the service manual, both these caps are the first things the mains connector hits (there is no old-school transformer in these Grundigs).

Any help gratefully appreciated.

Rob
Old 5th Sep 2017, 5:50 pm   #2
G6Tanuki
Dekatron

Default Re: Exploding X2 capacitors

Stop buying NOS capacitors!