UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread

Old 18th Sep 2019, 7:45 pm   #1
cornish ekco
Retired Dormant Member

Default Newbie with Ekco A23, advice please

Evening all
My name is Martin from Cornwall
I have inherited from my late father an A23 which I need help on.
I am a vehicle mechanic/vehicle electrician and do vehicle diagnostics so I am familiar with volts resistance etc and a little bit with capacitors.

I think my father bought this radio in the 1960s now and used it now and again until it until the 1980s until it stopped working so has not been messed about with.

I think its had a fairly big electrical trauma. With the HT disconnected the transformer started smoking, sorted with a good second hand one. I now have all valves lit and 250 dc volts coming out of the transformer.

First problem, a schoolboy error from me, where does the 250v transformer wire go to ? ( I have built a limiter so will use that also).

problem 2, the output transformer primary is open circuit but on the A23 the secondary seems to power something on the tone control. What are my options, obviously get it rewound but is there any other way? Pyes use the EL33 with a normal transformer so can I reconfigure my Ekco ? (I have found a normal one hence my question).
Finally Is it recommended to change the EL33 since the output transformer is open circuit ?
I am aware that I will be changing most of the caps.
Any help will be appreciated
Thans Martin

https://www.service-data.com/section.php/1958/1/a23
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	A23.jpg
Views:	103
Size:	31.6 KB
ID:	190478  

Last edited by AC/HL; 19th Sep 2019 at 11:07 am. Reason: Attachment edited and link added (Rule B8)